Planning to succeed in 2012

Oh I know, we’ve all made resolutions and broken most of them within a couple of weeks.  I think most of us have the best of intentions, but we don’t plan to succeed.  I think you have to really give it some thought.  Not just throw out the same old lose weight, get organized, save money resolutions that you’ve tossed out there practically every year.  It’s not about what you wish you could change, rather it’s about what you’re so tired of in your life that changing it is less painful than staying the same.

Over the past several weeks I’ve been giving this a lot of thought.  For me, I’m just so terribly tired of not feeling good, of having no energy, of being exhausted at the end of every work day, of climbing out of bed in the morning and stumbling around because I’m in so much pain, of not wanting to go anywhere because I’m tired and because I look like I do right now. 

I remember, not so long ago, feeling happy and excited about life.  I was running and enjoying it.  I was dancing with a smile on my face.  I was eating a healthy diet and getting a good amount of exercise and my body showed its appreciation with an excess of energy, strength to get through the day, and adequate sleep.

I want to feel like that again.  In order to do that, I’ll have to make some major changes in my life.  I’ll have to do a better job of planning my diet and my exercise routine.  I’ll have to get involved in a support system that will help me over the rough spots.  I’ll have to get back to eating a healthy diet because that’s what’s best for me.  I’ll have to deal with stress through exercise rather than through food.   And I’ll have to relearn to forgo the instant gratification of fast food in order to experience the return to health in the long-term.

As I said, I’ve been mulling this over for several weeks now.  I’ve come to the realization that I’m so tired of feeling like this.  So tired that it is more difficult to continue living like this than it is to make the necessary changes to return to fitness.

I’m planning to succeed.  I’m planning to regain my healthy lifestyle and become that fit person I was not so long ago.  Can I do it?  Oh yeah!!  Watch me succeed!

 

6 Responses

  1. Go, Patti, Go!! I know you can do it. We’ll need to be in contact more often to support each other. And now that you have a car, you can visit more often. We can walk the malls and the parks. I’ve let stress add pounds this year and I don’t feet as good. I especially need to be active in healthy eating and exercise since I am no longer a diabetic. I sure don’t want to be on medication again. Happy New Year!!!!

    • oh Margaret, you definitely don’t want to go back on medication when you’ve worked so hard to get off it. Maybe we can visit some of the state parks and do some walking and stuff there. I always feel so much better when I can take in the beauty of nature as I’m walking. Now that my work schedule is a little more sane I’ll have a little more time to keep up with everyone and what all’s going on. Happy New Year, my friend!!

  2. This has been a tough time of year for you, Patti, so much out of your control. I, too, am looking forward to getting back into a regular routine.

    • You expressed that very well, patti…seemed like my life wasn’t my own for several months there at the end of the year. I’m so looking forward to getting back into the healthy routines that make me feel good!

  3. you go girl! small changes will have big effects – you are motivated, so I know you can do it!

    • Thank you, thank you!! That’s really what I’m trying to do, just make small changes…today was a good day, even if I did have to go back to work!

Leave a Reply

