Mega Monday

Well, now I know why we were so busy at work today.  I have the news on in the background and they had a feature on Mega Monday.   Supposedly this is the third busiest shopping day of the year.  I’m not sure about that, but we were certainly busy.  We opened at  7 this morning (which meant we had to get there at 4…ugh).  We had to get the ad set and try to get some of the new sets done for tomorrow’s huge truck.  But with customers lining up outside the doors before 7  to snag some of those Christmas bargains, it was difficult to get anything done.

I have to admit I did some shopping as I was signing things.  I depleted my supply of gift bags this year so I stocked up on those at 70% off.  I also bought a couple of packages of tissue paper.  I wasn’t completely out, but my stash was getting low and, at 59 cents a package, hey, why not grab some?

I spent about $11 on these (and another $3 on Ghirardelli baking chips)…not bad, not bad at all.

People were buying a lot of gift wrap, bows, packaging for baked goods and candy, decor items.  It’s always fun to talk with people about what they’re planning to do with the things they buy this year for next year.  And it makes me feel a little better to realize I’m not the only person who buys things to put back for next year and then forgets that I bought them until late in the season.  That seems to be a fairly common thing.  So I guess I’m just a normal girl after all…

2 Responses

  1. Many times I’ll buy my Christmas cards after Christmas for next year. This year, I couldn’t remember if I’d gotten them or not. Good thing I have one closet to keep things like that together!

    • I didn’t buy cards after Christmas this year, just gift bags,tags,and tissue paper…I think I’m set. Now if only I could get an early start on my Christmas shopping…

Leave a Reply

