Christmas is almost here!!!

I was so happy when I noticed that Christmas is only four days away!  I get to see my family.  I get an entire weekend off work!  I can get back to a semblance of normalcy as far as my work schedule goes.  And I can finally have the time to get some sleep, rest, cook some healthy food, get back to my exercise routine, and take a little vacation!

Remember when you were a kid and it seemed like Christmas would never get here?  And then finally it was Christmas Eve and you wanted to go to sleep but you were so excited that you couldn’t.  Then finally getting out of bed on Christmas morning and seeing what Santa had left for you.  Our grandparents lived down the hill from us and would come up as soon as they saw the lights come on (why is it, when you get older and have the opportunity to sleep in, you don’t do it?).  They’d sit there and watch us open our presents and they always had a gift for each of us too.  I still have this  ceramic piggy bank that my grandparents gave me when I was a preteen.  It’s nothing special, but it’s oh so special to me.

Mom and Grandma always made a big Christmas breakfast…usually pancakes and bacon.  Then they’d clean up while we played.  Before long, it was time to start preparing the Christmas dinner.  Mom always made her homemade chicken and noodles…unbelievably good.  When I got older, I made homemade yeast bread.  My grandfather loved it, said it reminded him of his mother’s bread.

My grandparents have been gone for many years and my mom has been gone for over 20 years.  But that only makes the memories that much more precious.

Merry Christmas to all!!

6 Responses

  1. I still have the piggy bank that my grandfather gave me when I was about 8. Also, I have a Santa that holds a bubble light. When he was new the light was in the shape of a Christmas tree. I have a few well-used ornaments that were my Mom’s. One time when I came home from work, my youngest son had cut a small branch from a pine tree, put it in a pot with dirt and decorated it with those ornaments. It was on my dresser. Sorta like a Charlie Brown tree. I love those kinds of memories. Rest while you can.

    • oh Margaret, those are some very precious memories! I’ve got some of the ornaments that we had when we were kids. Just cheap little trinkets, but filled with the joy my family shared all those years ago. I am so looking forward to some rest…

  2. Loved reading your Christmas memories.

    I read your blog from time to time and sounds like you are one busy lady! It’s nice you get some time off this weekend to spend with your family.

    I lost the way on my long and winding road to fitness; I know where this road I’m on now leads, so I’m hoping to get myself turned around and back on the right road after Christmas!

    Merry Christmas!

  3. I also have fond memories of Christmas as a child.

    • It was definitely a simpler time, i think we were satisfied with less material stuff and did more fun activities together. I wonder what kids today will remember 40 years from now about their childhood Christmas?!

Leave a Reply

