Do you get offended when someone says “happy holidays”?

We were talking about this at work the other day.  On Facebook, I’ve seen so many people complaining about someone wishing them happy holidays instead of saying merry Christmas.  I was in the break room with a couple of the gals I work with (Donna and Cathy) and I brought it up.  We were all in agreement that we take no offense either way.

I figure, if someone says happy holidays, they’re just trying to be nice.  I can’t imagine people taking offense to that.  At work, if I see someone buying Christmas things, I’ll wish them a merry Christmas.  Otherwise, I’ll say “happy holidays”…I’ve never had anyone get mad at me about that.   When someone is just trying to be nice, wishing you well, I think you’re being overly sensitive to be offended by the wish for a happy holiday.

Yes, Christmas is the celebration of the birth of Christ, but there are other holidays at this time of year.  Why should we exclude those of other faiths and beliefs when we’re hoping that people will have a happy holiday…whatever that holiday may be.

Come on people, chill a little…happy holidays to all!!

8 Responses

  1. I don’t get offended by a generalization because there are different holidays and who knows who is celebrating what. I want people to just be happy. I know people who claim to be atheists and agnostics but yet are talking about Christmas presents and that’s when I have been offended. Other than that Happy Holidays!

    • happy holidays to you too…it does seem strange that people who aren’t Christians would talk about getting Christmas presents…who knows what goes on in the minds of people?!

  2. I so agree with you. Season’s Greetings works also for me. I just want people to be merry and kind to others and I’m sure Jesus would want that for us as well.

  3. Yep – I’m with you. I think it comes down to trying to be friendly and thoughtful. You never know what someone else’s story is, so it can’t hurt to keep it general.

  4. I’d be thankful the employee took the time to notice I was there. Many times during the rest of the year there’s hardly a “thank you” or acknowledgment of one’s presence. I think some people are tired of Christ being taken out of other areas of our lives, but go to the other extreme. It is truly a holiday season for many.

    • Well I know what you’re saying about employees in stores not acknowledging you at all…happens to me all of the time…well, except for when they’re falling over themselves asking me if I’m finding everything…haha!

Leave a Reply

