You better deck those halls

christmas 2007

Image by paparutzi via Flickr

Well folks, the countdown has begun.  It’s now only 13 days until Christmas and, since today is almost over, you might even say it’s only 12 days…but who’s counting, right?  Have you got your tree up?  (I do, mine was easy to put up, just carry that little baby down the stairs, put it on the table and do a little fluffing. No struggling with lights for me.  No dragging out boxes of ornaments and decorations.  It stays decorated, just stored away in the spare room…easy, instant decorating.) 

 Have you done all of your shopping?  I thought I was finished, but then I came up with something different for a couple of people so I still need to run out tomorrow and buy those things.  And a couple of gift cards.  And something for Spooky and Goldi (yes, I buy a little something every year for the cats.  Usually a can of expensive cat food and a couple of new toys that they won’t really play with…kind of like kids,  they keep going back to the empty boxes.)

Do you have your Christmas cards sent?  I don’t.  I don’t even have them addressed.  Okay, granted, I’m not sending out a lot, but I had those adorable cards made with Spooky looking at an ornament on the tree…just understand, I only had 10 made and I’ve got at least that many family members to send cards to.  Sorry…

Have you done any baking or candy making?  I haven’t.  I tend to wait until just a few days before Christmas to do that.  Less time to be tempted by all of those goodies, right?

Do you have everything wrapped/packaged?  I haven’t done any of that yet.  I used to do gorgeous package presentations, all kinds of ribbon and little tie ons.  Now it’s gift bags for me.  And gift bags are reuseable…much better than throwing all of that paper in the trash.

Hmm…sounds like we’ve all got a lot to do in the next 12 days…so get to deckin’ y’all!

4 Responses

  1. I’m glad I have you to keep me in line! lol The tree is up, had to remove the lights (we tend to leave those on it for storage) got new lights, yet to be put on. Haven’t done much shopping yet, the Christmas cards await. Good idea to wait on the baking. Don’t know how much I’m going to do this year. Will probably make pizzelles. Gift bags were a great invention, but I still tend to wrap what I can for the grandkids. Guess I’ll get some sleep, and try to get some deckin’ in tomorrow! 🙂

    • Sounds like you’ve still got a few things to get done in the next 12 days…I got everything that i’m putting in gift bags done, but i still need to wrap a few things. didn’t bring the wrapping paper downstairs, so still need to run up and get it.

  2. We have done with my Christmas tree and we make our own Christmas tree ornaments.
    No lights for sure because my boys will make a mess with it 😀

Leave a Reply

