Christmas decorations…what were they thinking?

When I got home from a long, exhausting day at work yesterday, my neighbor greeted me out on the sidewalk.  She wanted to know if I cared if she decorated the porch and the bushes…we share a covered porch with bushes on both sides.  Maybe I was just too tired to be making such momentous decisions, but I told her to go ahead and decorate, it would be fine with me.

My decorating style is more woodland, with berries, birds, rusted ornaments…all of that kind of decor.  I just find it to be visually appealing and restful. Well, imagine my surprise when I walked out my door early this morning to go to work and saw this…

Luckily, I was half asleep and it was still dark, but I couldn’t resist taking a few pictures when I got home this afternoon.  Isn’t that something?

When I was telling one of my friends about this, she told me she drove by a house that had pink flamingoes lining their driveway, some standing, some toppled…wow…I want to see a picture of that one.

How about you?  Is your decorating style more traditional, whimsical, woodsy, or trendy?

10 Responses

  1. Well at least they have spirit 🙂

    • haha…yes, they do…I put my red berry, snowy wreath on the front door and my little whimsical flag on the pole. That’ll be the extent of my outdoor decorating.

  2. The nice thing about holiday decorations: They look better at night when lit! We don’t decorate outside, only a wreath on the door. Our neighbors on either side do plenty. One is orderly and neat, the other sticks everything imaginable in the yard. The difference is a retired couple and a family with several small children. If I get around to putting the tree up indoors, it varies from traditional to woodsy. Lately, I prefer birds, pine cones, branches with red berries.

    • I did manage to get my tree up…well, it wasn’t really that difficult since all I had to do was carry it down the stairs. The only thing I put out that is in the bright red and green that many people associate with Christmas is an afghan that my friend crocheted for me. I bought a little woodsy squirrel and a tube of nature-colored (dark greens, browns, coppers) plastic ornaments at work yesterday for my tree. I usually only use plastic ornaments any more since Spooky tends to undecorate the tree when I’m not home.

  3. For me, it’s all about the twinkle lights. I like to have them everywhere, inside and outside. I don’t care much for garland’s or plastic santas on my lawn. Other than a wreath, I don’t have much greenery either, though perhaps I should change it up a little this year.

    It’s the thought that counts, right? We share a porch and lawn with our neigboours as well and I kind of wish ours would offer to take over decorating duty.

    • You’re right, and who knows? By the end of the holiday season, the tinsel may just grow on me. It’s snowing like crazy right now, and the tinsel looks kind of pretty with the snow covering it.

  4. I’m usually the Grinch, but this made me smile. 🙂 Just be glad they’re not the Griswolds!

  5. Oh, Lord. I busted out laughing when I saw this picture. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

