The long and winding road to fitness, day 124

I hate to be a downer, but I’m afraid that’s what I’m going to be tonight.  I had the weekend off work and didn’t really accomplish a lot.  I had lots of things planned, but only managed to get a few of them done.  I’ve got to snap out of this funk I’ve been in lately.  Okay, I know what I need to do is simply do the things I know I need to do…no matter whether or not I want to do them, whether or not I feel like doing them, whether or not I’m in the mood to do them.  It’s like exercise, you may not be in the mood to do it, but if you just start you’ll usually find yourself feeling better and better as you go along (not always, believe me, I know that). 

I didn’t bake the kale chips I intended to bake today.  I did kind of clean the kitchen though.  And I have my lunch and snacks prepared for tomorrow.  Unfortunately tomorrow starts super early…5 am again, blah!  So I really need to try to get to bad early tonight…try being the operative word…it’s not easy to go to sleep on demand, well, unless you’re a teenager, then you can usually sleep for 16 out of 24 hours every day.  Ahh…those were the days and we were too young to realize it!

And Halloween is coming…do you buy the candy early?  Aren’t you afraid you’ll eat it and then just have to go out and buy more?  Or do you buy candy that you don’t really like?  Hmm…now there’s a thought…oh…now if only I could come across a candy I didn’t like…

Jack-o-latern

Image via Wikipedia

28 Responses

  1. I agree that the hardest part of exercising is just DOing it and then when you do you generally are so hyped up afterwards that you’re glad you made yourself!
    As for the candy– I would buy it ON Halloween. Don’t let yourself eat even one piece (or you’ll just want more and you know how that spirals) and give away the rest of it immediately, like by taking it into work the next day or giving it to your neighbor, etc.
    Good luck! 🙂

    • I’ll actually be working all weekend on Halloween weekend, so I’m sure there will be lots of “treats” there, the people I work with just can’t resist bringing in goodies to share…or maybe they’re just trying to get them out of their homes.

  2. I try not to buy Halloween candy, since I know the kids will be getting tons of it when they go trick-or-treating. Our city is not really conducive for house-to-house trick-or-treating, so we go down to the big even on our Main Street.

    Unfortunately, this year I bought candy corn to decorate with. However, I’ve pretty much just decorated my stomach with it. Argh!!

  3. I like your blog – thank you for the pingback.. I am happy you did that because now I can follow you.
    I hope you will get motivated and keep at it. I need to get on your fitness bandwagon.

  4. I’ve been guilty in the past of buying the kind of candy I would want. e.g., snickers/hershey bars/reese cups/milky ways. Well…you get the point.
    Last year my husband bought a bag of all the “wrong” kinds of snacks..like loop suckers/candy corn/…well you get the idea..right?
    Had a lot of it left over and I took it to work and piled in a bowl and no one touched them as well.

    So this year I’m back to the favorites and I will test my willpower to nth degree for those little faces light up when you put the “good candy” in their bags. My health conscious acquaintances would gasp at this.

    They put packets of yogurt covered raisins and such in the little ones’ bags. O.K. I’ll get a few bags of the latter. Some of the parents come up on the porch with the little ones to see what’s going in those sacks. (~_^)

  5. Kale chips! How awesome! Will you post the recipe?

  6. Didn’t you ever go to college? We don’t sleep 16 hrs out of 24! That’s ludicrous! =D

    • no..you’re right, when I was in college I took classes on Monday, Wednesday and Friday so I could have the rest of the week to do what I wanted to do, well, aside from working which I always did. I was actually talking about high school kids who would sleep the day away if you let them…oh wait, you’re not that far out of high school, are you? hehe!!

      • 8ish months, give or take a week.

      • You’re just a young pup…how’d you learn so much about life in so few years?

      • Let’s just say it wasn’t really intentional or really wanted, but the fact both my parents are nutjobs, I’m living by myself barely 18 and out of high school, it teaches you things.

      • I’m so thankful that my mom was great…my dad, well, not so much. but you’re right, when you have to face the world on your own, it does teach you a lot. Do you have other family that you’re close to? I’m fortunate in that my step sister and I are really close, and I’m crazy about her kids. Plus I have the most wonderful friends in the world…pretty fortunate in that regard. Sometimes I think you just have to make your own family when you’re not blessed with a good one. I know you’re going to be successful at all that you do in life.

      • Thanks, dude. No, not close family at all. But Friends are the family you find. The ones you pick. And I must say, I’ve picked damn good ones,

      • I’m glad to hear that you have good friends. A lot of people say that family will always be there for you,but I know I have some friends who would be there for me no matter what, no matter the distance separating us, no matter how long it’s been since we were together. I think we both must be very fortunate in our choice of friends…good for us!

      • Aye, my family has dropped off the face of the earth one by one. but I’ve fortunately found friends who never will. We are certainly lucky!

      • well, my family hasn’t dropped off the face of the earth (that’s an interesting concept), but sometimes I wonder if they’ve forgotten who I am….not so with my friends.

    • Often, I’d prefer they would .>:(

  7. So sad to hear you are so blah 😦 Some times we just have those types of days. It will get better. Drink some water, take a big deep breath and do something nice for yourself.
    I haven’t made Kale chips yet, but i’m hooked on kale pesto! Tiny bit of EEVO, a clove or two of garlic, and a bunch of kale in the food processor. Super yummy with some pita chips

  8. I hope you’re feeling better, Patti. My mother-in-law usually sends us a TON of candy, so we don’t usually buy it.

    • Felt pretty good today, thanks. I did stop and buy candy to take to work today…they love stuff like that. I have a Halloween cake in the oven right now, taking it tomorrow for the October birthdays…yep, kind of late…but better late than never and tomorrow is truck day so most of the people will be working.

  9. I’m glad you read my post so I could find your blog. I applaud you. I have always alternated between healthy eating and complete candy and chocolate consumption. To have been committed to this for 124 days is amazing. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

