The long and winding road to fitness, day 103

Acorn-squash

Image via Wikipedia

Whew…wild day at work!!  Another fun-filled, non-stop day.  Busy, busy,busy (and that’s not a bad thing).  I’m sure tomorrow will be more of the same, lots to do.

I ate fairly well today, but didn’t eat enough veggies.  Did get in plenty of fruit, so that’s at least one good thing.  I bought an acorn squash and some sweet potatoes…I love both of those, just need to cook them.  Not going to happen tonight though.

I did walk for 25 minutes in addition to all of the walking I did at work.  So at least I didn’t go three days without exercising.  It’s awfully easy to just not start again once you miss a couple of days even when you know how much better you feel when you do exercise.  What’s that all about?

Lots of new neighbors moving in this weekend.  You never know if that’s a good thing or not.  Are they going to be playing loud music all night when I have to get up at 4:30 or 5 almost every morning?  Are they going to be having drunken friends over?  Are they going to be crazy and have violent fights?  Are they going to be messy and leave trash all over the place?  Are their kids going to be troublesome?  On the other hand, they could be sweet and helpful.  They could be interested in making their patio and porch look cozy and inviting.  They could work a lot and not have a lot of company.  Their kids could be well-mannered and well-behaved (mmm…yeah, that doesn’t happen often).  We could find out we have a lot in common and become life-long friends…you just never know what you’re going to get when someone new moves in, do you?

Are you friendly with your neighbors?  Do you know one another just to say “hi” to or are you in and out of each other’s homes, visiting, laughing, sharing?

10 Responses

  1. Imagine if I moved in…half the neighborhood would go bat-crap insane within weeks!

    • it would never be boring, that’s for sure!!

      • Understatement. Of. The. Year.

      • So, when you moving down this way? Not sure you’d enjoy it all that much, but then again, you probably would…lots of college kids and always something going on. I’m so excited for you that you’ll be going to college…experience every aspect of it.

      • Ah, *awkward silence*. The university near you is still an option but it’s not one I’m taking. The one I have set my sights on is a state school here in PA and is much cheaper, which is why I chose it. They also have a swell Journalism program, and I’m going for a BA in Communications with a concentration in Journalism.

        It’s actually Mansfield University.

      • Hey, I was kidding, you know. No need for awkward silences…I wish I’d studied journalism when I was in college, not sure why I didn’t, I guess I paid too much attention to all of the people who told me there was no money in it…just follow your dreams and don’t worry about what other people say or think. You’ll do great!!

  2. I’m glad to see you were feeling better today, getting back on track. I did 30 mins. on the exercise bike, then went to a family cook-out. Over on the calories today, and I don’t know what was in some of the things I ate. We go to one of the neighbor’s Christmas open house–they’ve only lived there a couple years. We visited with the previous home owners regularly, and helped them when we could (older couple). We don’t tend to visit each others homes, but we help each other when someone needs an extra pair of hands, and things like that. My mom and her neighbors would get together over coffee, spend time with a widow, play rummy and canasta when the husbands worked night shift, they were “backdoor” friends–no phone call preceded the visits most times.

    • The way your mom and her neighbors behaved with one another sounds wonderful, but my life just isn’t like that. I can’t stand for people to just drop in without at least calling first. I guess I’m around people so much all the time at work that I kind of like a little peace and quiet when I get home. Sounds like you did good on the exercise front!! Sounds like you’re feeling better too!!

  3. We are friendly with our neighbours but not really friends. There are a lot of people in a different stage of life who live around us. But we will be getting new neighbours sometime. A man bought the house next to us and has fixed it up to rent. Here’s hoping for good ones!

    • I hope you get some good neighbors too. My favorite neighbors were the elderly couple who lived next to me when I had a house in another town. They were so sweet and we always did things for each other!

Leave a Reply

