Going back to school

Writing

Image by J. Paxon Reyes via Flickr

I have to admit, there are times when I think about going back to school.  Totally changing careers.  But honestly, with the exception of writing, I can’t think of anything I really, truly feel passionate about as far as a career goes.  Of course I have interests, don’t we all?  But one thing I’ve discovered about myself over the years is that I tend to get bored and move on to the next great thing.  I don’t know if that’s a blessing or a curse.  A blessing in that I get to experience a lot of different, fun things in life.  A curse in that I have yet to find that one thing  to do in life that makes me wake up with a smile on my face because I just can’t wait to get the day started.

Seriously, isn’t that how some people feel about their jobs?  Maybe not most people, but some?  I like my job well enough, but it’s not what I envisioned for myself years ago…well, I don’t really know that I envisioned anything all those years ago except being a singer in a rock band…kind of funny if you could hear me sing!

So, what?  Did I have unrealistic dreams?  Mmm…yeah, those dreams about being a singer…pretty unrealistic.  Maybe one of the reasons I like writing so much is that I can make my life be whatever I can imagine…heck, I can even be someone else when I’m writing…someone from a hundred years ago, or someone living a thousand years from now.  I can be a queen or a serving girl.  I can be wealthy or abjectly poor.  I can be Hitler or Mother Theresa…in my writing, I can be whoever I choose to be and do whatever I want to do.  If I don’t like how life is working out in my writing, I can just edit things, change them to make me happy.  Now, if only I could figure out how to make my life work like that…ah well, in the meantime, I’ll just keep writing, imagining, dreaming, and doing a lot of editing.

6 Responses

  1. I very much believe living a life is writing a story in a lot of ways.My life doesn’t always go according to plan, but like my stories I don’t have too much control over the antagonists who enter it and whatever they decide to do. I’ll still take whatever little they wind up leaving me with and make it work.

    It’s more complicated than that, but that’s my basic philosophy. Keep your dreams! Sometimes that’s nearly all we’re left with, I think.

  2. I remember the husband of a friend saying once that he couldn’t wait to get to work in the morning. He loved his job so! I thought that was such a wonderful thing–don’t think I’d ever heard anyone say that before. They ended up divorced, maybe he put his job ahead of his family, too. I remember the 2nd grade teacher asking us what we wanted to be when we grew up, and I answered, “A mom.” Now that my nest is empty, where do I go from here? Blogging! I love doing this, but it doesn’t pay much. Or anything, for that matter. But I feel this is what God has given me to do right now. I pray you’ll find your perfect niche, and purpose.

    • I was always so jealous of the people who knew exactly what they wanted to do in their lives even from a young age…there were so many things that interested me that I had a difficult time making that decision…the one thing I keep coming back to is writing..so I think that just may be my niche…not paying a lot right now, but the possibility is there, with a lot of hard work and discipline…

  3. I dont think any one actually achieves what they set out for, and if they do achieve it, when they do, I think they look for what’s next. So keep being you and who ever else you want to be in your writing.

Leave a Reply

