BzzAgent Hill’s Science Diet 11+ Age Defying cat food campaign

Yes, I am a BzzAgent and I am taking part in a campaign for a new cat food for cats that are 11 years old or older.  I received my packet for the new Hill’s Science Diet 11+ Age Defying cat food a while back.  I eagerly opened the packet and read the info.  Wow, a cat food that will help my older cat, Goldi, be more alert and agile, be more playful (she’s been sleeping a lot and is not a playful cat at all), and have fewer accidents.  Ahh…yes, the accidents that happen with older cats, not something we like to talk about, but they do tend to happen occasionally.  This sounds like it was made especially for Goldi.

Let me give you a little background on poor old Goldi.  I’m not exactly sure how old she is because she just showed up one cold fall day about three years ago.  Fully grown, obviously an older cat, just as obviously she had been someone’s pet at one time.  She wasn’t afraid of people, wanted in the house, and would come right up to me to be petted and loved on.  I didn’t want to take on the responsibility of another cat.  I already had my little Spooky girl and wasn’t looking to get another animal.  But I couldn’t just leave her out there with no food and water, so I did put out food for her and kept fresh water available.  Then, on one especially cold morning, I saw her sleeping under the dryer vent trying to stay warm.  What can I say?  I brought her in and put her in the spare bedroom until I had a chance to take her to the vet.  No major health issues, just old age.  The vet’s nearest guess was 10 to 12 years old.  So I slowly introduced the two cats and they now tolerate one another.  Honestly, Spooky would love to have a playmate, but Goldi wants no part of that.

Over the past few months I’ve noticed Goldi not moving as fast as she was, not eating as much as she had been, and sleeping a lot more (yes, cats sleep a lot anyhow, but this seems excessive).  Again, the vet said nothing major wrong with her, just old age.  So, when the opportunity came about for this new BzzAgent campaign, I thought it would be perfect for Goldi.

You can see, by the picture, that Goldi likes to get anyplace warm.  I think part of that is just being a cat…they all like warm places to sleep.  But I also attribute part of it to the fact that she’s thin…hard to tell with all of that fur, I know..and it’s harder for her to keep her little kitty body warm.

I like that they included a feeding guide along with my coupon for a free 3.5 pound bag of cat food (along with several coupons to share).  I immediately put out a small bowl of the dry food for Goldi.  She sniffed it and delicately ate a few bites.  The thing with Goldi is, she never eats very much at one time, but nibbles throughout the day.  I noticed she came back to the bowl several times over the course of the day.

Oops, did I forget to mention that little Spooky also likes this food?  The problem with that is she’s only 5 years old…goodness knows I don’t want her reverting back to kittenhood…she’s manic enough right now.  So I (hopefully) solved the problem by feeding them in separate areas.  I think Spooky may still grab the occasional bite, but not like she was.

Now that I’m feeding this new cat food to Goldi on a regular basis, I’m going to do weekly updates on my observations about her health and behavior.  Who knows?  Maybe, just maybe, Spooky will get her playmate after all.

5 Responses

  1. Age defying? Sounds interesting. I’m curious what’s in it that makes it so. It’s been several years since I cared for an elderly cat but their needs are different to be sure.

    Both of my little ones, the Cat Formerly Known As Shakes and Parmesan, still think they are dogs, or they act more like dogs than cats it seems. Everyone laughs because they follow us and wait for us to come out if we go in somewhere. They’re actually too old to still be acting this way so I think I need a special kind of food for them like Goldi has.

    • Let’s see, that age defying cat food is supplemented with vitamin E, beta-carotene, n-3 and n-6 fatty acids…supposed to help maintain proper kidney function, protect muscle mass, increase agility, reduce accidents, maintain natural immune system function, increase mental clarity, increase energy and increase human interaction…hmm..sounds like I might want to use that for myself…haha

      I’ve been very fortunate with most of my cats, they’ve just about all lived to a ripe old age being pretty healthy for most of their lives…I must be doing something right.

  2. So it’s basically the Fountain of Youth for cats? ;D

Leave a Reply

