The long and winding road to fitness, day 68

Root Beer Float

Image by babe_kl via Flickr

Oh, I felt so much better today…wasn’t in all that pain like I was yesterday, so right there my day was better…I worked just my regular 9.5 hours today…can’t remember the last time I’ve gone in at 7:30…what a treat!

Tomorrow, at work, we’re having a combination birthday celebration/farewell party.  I don’t know what everyone is bringing, but I do know that Donna is bringing her world-famous cookies…everyone loves those cookies!!  I stopped at Kroger after work and bought bread and buns for sandwiches (I couldn’t believe one of the guys is baking a ham), Coke, root beer and vanilla ice cream for floats.  I’ve been meaning to do that all summer and decided tomorrow would be the perfect day to finally get it done.  You do realize that summer is almost over, right?  Anyhow, I’m figuring my food intake for tomorrow will very likely not be the healthiest…I’m going to try to only have a little of just the things that I really love…kind of like Thanksgiving.  Hopefully I’ll be able to keep my calories under 2000 for the day.

Today I ended up with a little over 1650 calories for the day.  I didn’t eat breakfast because I kind of slept a little later than I should have.  I just had oj and vitamins.  The thing is, I know all the experts say you should always eat breakfast, but I seem to get hungrier when I do eat breakfast…am I just weird or is this something others experience too?  Hmm…additional research may be necessary in this area…and maybe I’ll be the lab rat.  Ooh…that reminds me, I took college classes where we had to do experiments on lab animals…I hated that…really, is this something that is vital to learning?  We take a lot of what we study in school at face value, why do we have to conduct experiments on innocent animals to learn what’s already in the textbooks?  Just sayin’…

I walked for 35 minutes today, that’s it on cardio.  I’ve still got to do some lower body strength training after I finish here and do the dishes…I’ve always liked doing strength training and never liked doing dishes…so I reward myself with the one for doing the other…does that make any kind of sense at all?

What exercise do you like/enjoy?  Is there any that you just hate and force yourself to do anyhow?

6 Responses

  1. You are right about eating breakfast. It must be that it gets the juices kick-started for the day and makes you want more. My breakfast is a cup of black coffee (no calories) and a granola bar. That does it until lunch.

    Anyway, everyone is a little bit different so whatever works for you. Keep up the good work.

    P.S. That picture of the root beer float made me drool.

    • I could go for coffee (but I have to have cream and sweetener…been using stevia lately) and a granola bar for breakfast. I could definitely cut back on some calories by eating a much lighter breakfast…I’ll just have to experiment with this, I do believe.
      I haven’t had a root beer float in years, but I’m going to have a small one tomorrow…yum!!

  2. Wow, you got to sleep in! Yay! Glad to hear you were feeling better. That helps so much. I’d rather eat brunch, not much for eating early, but I’m one of those who wants to eat from 3:00 on–so a later start is better for me. Hubby’s been working til 9; big project, so we’ve been eating cereal when he gets home. Sometimes I’ll get hungry and make something before that. I found the Hendrickson’s dressing at Kroger here today! Got tons of salad stuff, can’t wait to try it.
    Elliptical. I like it, but it’s so boring if there’s not a distraction–music or tv. I like most exercise, but didn’t care much for Pilates. You can tell by looking at my midsection! lol I’m with you on the dishes, too.

  3. I’m with you on the elliptical…I guess that’s why I like the exercise bike,I can read while I get in a workout. Hmm…I like your idea of starting eating later…I’ll have to see if that’ll work for me.

  4. I hated that when I was forced to dissect a frog for science class. Today I’d refuse no matter the consequences. I’d stand by my kids for refusing too if they chose to. Do they still make kids do that?

    Yum, root beer floats. I figured out how to make chocolate sodas this summer and….oh my gosh I gotta go make one right now! Glad you’re feeling better today Patti and you enjoyed your walk!

    • I don’t know if they still make kids dissect frogs in high school or not. The college classes that I took that required us to do experiments on live animals still have that requirement. I’m with you…I’d simply refuse now…there’s no reason to do this any more.

      So how do you make chocolate sodas? I’m looking for that blog that details that…complete with pictures~~

Leave a Reply

