The long and winding road to fitness, day 65

Open bottles of Extra Strength Tylenol and Ext...

Image via Wikipedia

Well, today was weigh in day…no weight loss this week…darn it.  Of course, I pretty well knew that in advance.  But I’m really going for it this week…extra cardio workouts on at least four days and lots of fruits and veggies every day.  That’s my goal for the week…and I’m going to do it!

I did get in a 40 minute walk today.  I’ve just been so tired from working like a crazy person the past few days.  What was it my grandma used to say?  “No rest for the wicked?”  Isn’t it really supposed to be “No rest for the weary.”?  That would apply too, in my case.

I really, really hope I can get some sleep tonight.  I’m so tired and aching, but still can’t seem to sleep the night through.  Hmm…this might be a night to take some Tylenol PM…that just might help with both issues.  And I know not getting enough sleep hurts with the weight loss…I think I just eat more when I don’t get enough sleep…kind of my body’s way of trying to get the energy to keep going.  Do you find the same thing to be true for yourself?

So have you set any goals for the week?  Do you have any exciting plans?

22 Responses

  1. Hi, Patti! Great blog. Happy to be a subscriber.
    I’m a huge believer in getting enough sleep. In my teens, my body (and the raging hormones) didn’t allow me to sleep too much and I felt like I was still dragging the next day. Thankfully, now in my mid-20s, my body falls into sleep very easily and quickly. I’ve made it a priority to always get about 7-9 hours a night (I’m asleep by 9:30pm) so I can actually function the next day.

    Goals this week: Get in 4 days of strength training with P90X, 2 days of Asylum, and start this college semester off with a bang!
    Take care,
    Amy

    • I was able to sleep pretty well in my 20s, I worked nights then but was still able to get about 8 or 9 hours of sleep. Now it’s a whole different thing for me. It takes me a while to fall asleep and I don’t often sleep the night through…I’m just at that age when that starts happening…hopefully it’ll get better.

      I’m so impressed with your workout schedule. I want to get back to that place…no, make that I will get back to that place!! Good luck with your new semester!! And thanks so much for subscribing…I’m really enjoying your blog as well!

  2. Work, work, work, work…and work. Also, did I mention tonight I’m seeing the girl I really wanna ask out?

    • Work…blah! Day off tomorrow…woohoo!! And what’s this about a girl you’re wanting to ask out? Go for it!! And then I want to hear all the details…well, okay, not ALL of them, but at least a few…Have you started back to class yet?

      • You get no details….you’ll just have to wait. 😉 Nah, I’m done high school so as long as it works out, I’ll go to the spring semester in Jan/Feb. Until then, it’s work. Work. Work.

      • So you’e going to start college in the spring? Very exciting! What are you interested in (well, besides the girl you want to go out with…ha)? I respect that you are working so hard at your age…so many guys and girls don’t have a clue about what it takes to hold down a job (or multiple jobs)…and you’re out there just doing it, working toward your future~~good for you!

      • Yep, spring semester if my luck holds! Thanks for the support, working isn’t really all that hard most (MOST) of the time, you just gotta know how to keep your energy and attention span going. The worst part is coming home from 8 hrs of working (8-5) and then doing a work out. Killer on your soul but great for your body 😦

        As for interests, I’m a kind of techy guy but not really. I do videos too with friends, mainly just extra roles which involve me getting killed in action scenes haha! I chill w/ friends, play video games, love movies, music, TV, the works.

      • As far as work goes, I think a lot of people just don’t really want to work…I’ve always found that no one just hands you the things you want in life, you almost always have to work for them. Ahh…the workout after work…that’s why I like to do mine early in the morning, before I go to work…then I can’t convince myself I’m too tired.

        I hate that you keep getting killed in those action scenes…that doesn’t seem right…can’t you work it out with your friends so that you can be the lone survivor, hero guy every once in a while? Come on, what are friends for?

      • Hahaha true, true. My one friend directs the shorts so he can kind of have creative control and this is also sort of maybe a career he could possibly go into, but I’ll see sometime if I don’t have to die. Thanks for the support! haha

      • Well, yeah…even if he is the creative guy, you shouldn’t always have to die..Ha, just had a thought…you should post a video of one of the shorts in a blog…good publicity for your friend and cool blog post for you!

      • I….did not even think of that. Legit. I will do so and will let you know AND credit you for the idea!

      • Well, I hadn’t even thought about being credited for the idea…looking forward to seeing this production!!

      • “A Outcast Production.” I like it!

      • Hmm…so do I! Go for it!

  3. I hope you get a good night’s rest. Yes, all those things affect our bodies, they can’t be separated, really, for the body as a whole requires sleep, and food, and movement.
    I’m trying to overcome a lower back/hip muscle spasm this week. Keep up the good work!

    • Gee, I hate to hear that you’re having more pain and muscle spasms…besides meds, what can you do to help deal with them? I had muscle spasms in my back once for a while, but it eventually eased up and I haven’t had it happen again. I don’t know how you manage to deal with it on an almost daily basis.

  4. Remember, no loss is better than a gain! 🙂 Try loading up on Vitamin C after workouts. It helps.

Leave a Reply

