Back to school at old IU

Franklin Hall (left) and Student Building (rig...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s that time of year again.  Back to school time.  Not that I’m going back to school.  I didn’t really like it all that much the first time around, so I probably won’t be returning to the classroom any time soon.  But a lot of people are returning to school this month.  I live in a college town…a town that is kind of sleepy and quiet during the summer months.  But that quiet is about to come to an abrupt end.  The college students will be returning to town very soon.  The sleepy days of summer will be replaced by the hustle and bustle of the new school year.

I remember how exciting and scary it was to start college, move to a new place where I didn’t know very many people, try to find my way around this huge campus as well as the surrounding town.  When I attended IU, most of the students lived on campus.  Now there are a lot of upscale apartment complexes down town that cater to the student population.  Many of them are self-contained with  gyms and shops within the complex.  I’d like to offer a word of advice to the students new to Bloomington…don’t isolate yourselves in your own apartment complex…get out and explore the town, interact with the locals, volunteer…the town has a lot to offer you, and you have so much to offer the town.    Welcome to Bloomington…welcome home!

5 Responses

  1. What a sweet post, love your ending sentiment. How nice, as a student, to be so warmly welcomed to a new town.

    • Honestly, when I was a student, I wish I had known enough to do things differently…to get involved in the town and the surrounding area, to recognize that there was more to this town than just the campus…but…when you’re 18 who can tell you anything?

  2. It’s hard to believe it’s back to school time already. But you’re right there is an energy to college towns. Your town sounds like an enjoyable place to live.

    • It’s funny to listen to a lot of the locals disparage the college students (and I’m not going to tell you that I haven’t done the same thing at times), but it really does liven things up when the students return…ahh…to be a college student again…no, wait, I wouldn’t want that…I much prefer where I am now, I kind of like having at least an idea of who I am…

  3. […] Back to school at old IU (run4joy59.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

