Quick and healthy pizza

Spinach pizza

Image via Wikipedia

I owned a pizza shop for 13 years.  You’d think I’d have had more than enough pizza to last me the rest of my life.  Unfortunately, I still love pizza.  But most pizzas don’t fit into the whole healthy eating thing that I’ve been trying to incorporate into my life. Sometimes I take the time to make a whole wheat thin pizza crust from scratch…now that is an awesome pizza. 

But sometimes I don’t have the time (or the inclination) to do the whole from scratch thing.  I’ve used pita bread as a base, but have never been totally satisfied with the results.  When I was at Kroger today, I saw a flatbread in their deli and I immediately thought about it being a good base for a little pizza.  I already had spinach, onions, and mozzarella cheese at home, mushrooms in my shopping cart, so I decided to give those babies a try. 

Tonight I got my little electric grill out, opened up a jar of spaghetti sauce (see, I told you this was quick and easy), put the flatbread on the grill, spread a couple of tablespoons of sauce over the bread, threw on a little diced onion, a lot of sliced mushrooms, some torn spinach, a little cheese and a sprinkling of Italian seasonings.  Then grilled it all until the cheese was melted.  Not bad, not bad at all.

I liked it so much that I made another one to take to work for tomorrow’s lunch.  Another plus about this, instant portion control…and that’s always a good thing when you’re trying to lose weight.  Next week, when I’m off work, I’m going to make a trip to Sahara Mart, one of the local health food stores.  They have a huge selection of flatbread and naan.  I think these would be freezable and easily pulled out of the freezer for a quick meal…quick and healthy…that’s what I’m looking for.

18 Responses

  1. I wish I could have pizza but I’m allergic to wheat and dairy so nada. Sucks though…

  2. Pizza? What times dinner – I’ll bring the juice and wine glasses :o)

  3. This sounds and looks good. I’m going to try it. Lately, I’ve been buying pizza with thin crusts.

  4. looks yummy! I’m jealous!

  5. Looks good! And I like quick, too.

    • I just keep experimenting with various ways to prepare a quick pizza…I never could find that brand of crust you were talking about the other day.

  6. […] Quick and healthy pizza (run4joy59.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] = ''; } Robins Healthy Take: Top It! Healthy Pizza-Topping RecipesQuick and healthy pizza var switchTo5x=true;stLight.options({publisher:'wp.3995f9a7-e4d5-4e71-8fdc-286124ad14f7'});var […]

Leave a Reply

