The long and winding road to fitness, day 42

Smoothie

Image via Wikipedia

It was so nice to have the day off work…so nice, in fact, that I did a lot of nothing all day.  I didn’t even go to the grocery store…talked myself out of it.  When I realized I really didn’t need much, I decided to wait until Wednesday…I’ll stop at the store after my eye doctor appointment…hopefully this will be my final appointment with the eye doctor for a year.  The contacts feel great and my vision is good, well, except for the need for reading glasses when I’m trying to read things up close…ahh…the joys of getting older!

I took a long nap this afternoon.  I knew I was exhausted from the work week and it felt so good to be able to take a nap. Spooky was cuddled up beside me the entire time.  I feel like I’m finally refreshed and can tackle some chores tomorrow.  I did do a little house work today, but nothing too strenuous.

My eating was good today.  For lunch, I had fish, sweet potato fries and watermelon.  Along about 6 pm, I realized I was really hungry.  So I decided to mix up a smoothie for dinner.  I used half a frozen banana, some blueberries, strawberries and dark chocolate almond milk.  I should have thrown in a handful of spinach, but didn’t think of it until I was sipping it.  I tell you, those smoothies go a long way toward curbing my craving for ice cream.  I also had a serving of flaxseed crackers with Laughing Cow cheese to go along with the smoothie.  A pretty tasty dinner.  Sorry, no pictures.

I did absolutely no exercise today other than the little bit of housework I got in.  I just couldn’t get myself moving this morning.  I had plans to go for a walk, but if I don’t do that first thing in the morning, I usually don’t do it.  That’s really why I try to get my exercise in early in the day.  If I wait until later, I can come up with all kinds of reasons (okay, excuses) not to do it.  I really admire these people who work all day then slip on their running shoes and go out for a 5 mile run.  I’m usually too tired by the time I get home from work.  And yes, I know I’d probably feel energized if I would do some exercise after work.  But doing it in the morning works for me…well, except for today.

Tomorrow’s weigh in day…keeping my fingers crossed that I did enough this week to drop a pound or two.  I had a few days of not the best eating, so I hope that didn’t derail my efforts for the week.  I’ll let you all know in the morning.

What time do you think is the best time to exercise?  What works for you?

6 Responses

  1. I prefer early in the day, but not too early–have to get the kinks worked out first. I had to take a muscle relaxer today, overdid it with the weights yesterday. 😦 I use reading glasses sometimes with my contacts. That’s ok, I prefer contacts to regular glasses any day. I’m glad you rested and took care of yourself today. I did see some of the Almond Breeze flavors, but not chocolate, at my store. They had a dark choc. in Silk. I like the Laughing Cow cheese–found chipotle flavored recently. 🙂 I finally got half a watermelon!! YUMMY.

    • Did I mistakenly tell you that I drink the Almond Breeze? I actually drink the dark chocolate in the Silk brand…oops! Another indication of impending old age??? I’m with you on the contacts over glasses…I’ve worn contacts for years. When I see my friends struggling with their bifocal glasses, I think I’ll just stick to my contacts and reading glasses when I need them. Sorry you were having some pain earlier today…did it ease up after taking the muscle relaxers?

      • I think the Almond Breeze was in the image, I only remember seeing that brand & you mentioning dark chocolate. Yes, I felt a lot better after the muscle relaxer. I don’t know if you saw that I have chronic myofascial pain. Some days I can do strength training, and some days not. (I don’t know until it’s too late). I seem to do better with resistance bands than weights. A friend & I had plans to go to lunch, so I couldn’t very well take my ice pack, heating pad, or whatever else it might have needed. I have an arsenal of weapons to fight it! lol

      • ahh…you’re probably right…I should always take my own pictures, but sometimes just don’t do it…No, I didn’t know that you had chronic myofascial pain. You seem to cope well with it and it’s not easy to cope with any kind of chronic pain, is it? Sounds like you’re having a good time while hubby’s away…enjoy your Sunday!

  2. Thanks for the link up, I totally know what you mean about taking a day off and just mellowing out, it feels great doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

