The long and winding road to fitness, day 28

Blackberry pie made with a pastry crust

Image via Wikipedia

Day 28…hard to imagine I’ve been at this now for four weeks.  I still have a lot of room for improvement, but I guess that can be said for all of us in most areas of our lives.  At least I’m still working on it, haven’t given up, don’t intend to give up.  I’m so grateful for all of you who are taking this journey with me.  The load is lighter when shared with friends.

Today was a pretty good day.  I think starting the day by going to the farmers market put me in healthy mode.  It made me think about what I wanted to eat today, tomorrow, and when I go back to work next week (Monday…boo…).  While on vacation, I didn’t plan all my meals and snacks like I do when I have to go to work.  That’s okay, but I know I do better when I plan.  So I’ve already decided what I’ll take to work Monday and Tuesday (I’ll be off Wednesday), what I’ll eat for dinner those days, what snacks I’ll eat throughout the week.   I’m as ready as I can be to go back to the work routine, not looking forward to it, but ready.

I got in an hour of walking today…that was really all of the exercise I did.  I ended up eating a little over 1525 calories for the day, so pretty good there.  I made up some kale chips with the kale I bought at the farmers market today…yum!!  Also cooked the green beans I bought.  Tonight’s dinner was fish, green beans and kale chips.  Cantaloupe for dessert.  And this cantaloupe was the best of the season so far…delish!!  I think peaches and melon are my favorite summer fruits.  Well, except for strawberries and blackberries, those are pretty tasty too.  I love how much better all the fruits and veggies taste in the summer.

Zucchini blossom in my little garden…

I’m going to go out early in the morning and try to find some blackberries to pick.  I noticed some the other day when I was walking, so I’m going back that way to see if they’re ready to pick yet.  Kind of reminds me of when I was a kid and we’d go out blackberry pickin’ with Grandma and Mutt (her big old dog).  And that reminds me of the blackberry cobblers she used to bake.  She’d make the crust from scratch and put everything in her deep cast iron skillet, bake it until the crust was brown and the juices were bubbling through the cracks in the top crust.  Oh my…she’d dish some out on a plate and put a scoop of vanilla ice cream with it…heaven!!  I’ve never even tried to make a cobbler like that.  But I do like to eat the blackberries raw…just pop them in my mouth. Yum!

What summer dishes do you remember from your childhood?  Is there anything that you prepare now that reminds you of the good old days?

7 Responses

  1. My favorite summer foods growing up were corn on the cob and watermelon. My dad grew just about all the veggies we ate.
    My mom was always baking bread, pies and cobblers. I’m trying to find healthy alternatives to some of those delicious foods. Every once in awhile I stumble onto a recipe that hits really close to home on the tastes I remember, yet agreeable with my diet plan. (I found one for blackberry cobbler not too long ago.) 🙂

    • Would you care to share that recipe for blackberrry cobbler, Patti? My mom didn’t do as much baking as my grandma did…I think Mom was just worn out from working all day and then trying to take care of three kids when she got home…

  2. Blackberry cobbler was and still is my favorite. The reason I never learned to make piecrust is that I LOVE pies. I used to work with a teacher who brought me one every summer. Tomatoes, watermelon, cantaloupe all the things you really can’t get any other time of the year. Imported just isn’t the same.

    • The reason I never learned to make pie crust is because it just always seemed like too much work for no more than I like pies…Mom could make a fantastic pie crust tho…she tried to teach me several times, but I just wasn’t interested…

  3. It’s unusual probably but my memories of summer are eating tomatoes out of the garden until I had sores in my mouth. The tomatoes today, even the heirloom, are not that strong. It’s kind of funny.

    Of all the great things my grandmother taught me, one was how to make a wonderful pie crust from scratch. I haven’t made one for years, but I do remember all the little tricks. like brushing the crust with milk while cooking to make it flaky. Good memories!

    • Oh my, I remember doing that with tomatoes too…I think you’re right, I think tomatoes are less acidic today than back in the good old days… Sounds like you’re going to have to get busy and make a pie…good blog material there, don’t you think?

  4. […] Posted on July 18, 2011 by pattisj| Leave a comment My friend, Patti, (yes, there’s another one–spelled the same!) and I were discussing blackberries […]

Leave a Reply

