The long and winding road to fitness, day 26

Chronic pain

Image via Wikipedia

Ooh…not a good day today,as much as I hate to admit it.  I did go out for an early morning walk, but ended up cutting it short because I was in so much pain.  And, for most of the day, nothing I did eased the pain.  I’m still hobbling around, but haven’t been active at all.  I can’t even blame the weather for this bout, it’s been a gorgeous day, no rain, low temps and humidity.  So what’s up?  I have days like this every once in a while, no real way to predict when it’s going to hit.  All I can do is struggle through it and that’s exactly what I’ve done today.  Hopefully tomorrow will be better.

I only got 15 minutes of walking  and a little bit of stretching done today.  I ended up eating around 1700 calories for the day.  I didn’t feel like doing any cooking at all, so ended up eating mostly packaged stuff .  I did have a couple of cups of tea with this chai latte creamer I bought yesterday…tastes just like what you buy at Starbucks…I’m thinking it’d be really good iced too.  That may be something I take to work next week when I have to go back…I’m almost halfway through my vacation.  Haven’t accomplished all I wanted to, but still have more time to get some things done.  I need to do some running around tomorrow morning, but I hope to be home before noon.  We’ll see how that goes.

So, do you have days when you really struggle due to things that are largely out of your control?  How do you deal with that?

6 Responses

  1. Sometimes I just have to believe that there is a reason for this (whatever it may be) happening. Maybe there is a cause for the pain that I don’t realize at the time. Maybe I just need to learn to be patient. I have difficulty not being in control, not being able to do what I want to do, when I want to do it. God has plans for me that I’m not always aware of. Praying you will get better soon.

    • Thanks, Margaret…I think you must have a good line to God, I woke up feeling much better this morning..learning to be patient? I hope that’s not the lesson I have to learn…I don’t have a lot of patience for that sort of thing…lol

  2. I feel for you. I’ve lived with pain for several years and the last year has been the most difficult. I hope it goes away so you can enjoy your vacation!

  3. When I have a day like that, I take it easy. Listen to your body. I’ve been keeping a record of food and activity, hoping to see if there’s any recurring factor that might help me determine the cause. Our weather changed from hot/humid to breezy and wonderful. I’ve heard that some people feel the change in barometric pressure. (You’ve probably heard people say they can tell when it’s going to rain, e.g.)
    Did you get the Int’l Delight Chai Creamer? I put it in coffee last week. YUM.
    Like Margaret, I used to struggle when not feeling like doing what I wanted when I wanted. Now I have peace about it, and accept that this is the body I have, and things will get done, just maybe not when I planned.
    I cut it close today, had 7 calories left! (Officially, that was yesterday, seeing as it is past midnight.) A new day! New calories!! 🙂

    • Oh I did take it easy yesterday. Didn’t get anything done, but that’s okay. I woke up this morning feeling much better and tackled some of my chores. I did buy the International Delight Chai Creamer…delish!! Had a cup of tea this afternoon with it…I’ll definitely be buying that again. You are doing such a great job sticking with your food plan every day!! Under 7 calories…woohoo!!

Leave a Reply

