Daily writing

750 Words

Image by chsh via Flickr

I’m finally in the groove of writing daily.  In addition to blogging at least once a day, I’ve been utilizing 750words.com to do kind of a stream of consciousness thing.  Sometimes I come up with some decent blog topics while doing my 750 words.  At other times, I’m able to figure out what I really want or need to do about certain situations.  I’m on a 37 day writing streak right now, which is pretty cool.  I’m not sure if my writing is actually improving, but at least I’ve developed the habit of writing daily…that can’t hurt.

I have had to cut back in other areas of my life in order to have the time to write daily though.  I knew something had to give when I started devoting so much time to writing and exercising.  And that something was some of the online social aspects of my life. I only check Facebook first thing in the morning and then again in the evening, so I’m not staying in touch with friends as much as I was.  I still respond to direct comments, but have had to curtail the comments on the activities of others.  That was the trade-off I chose to make in order to have the time to do the things that were important to me.   So, if you’ve noticed I don’t seem to be around as much as I was, just know it’s not you.  It’s me and the choices I’ve had to make in  order to accomplish all that I want in my life.

I always wanted to be a writer, always started stories, very rarely finished them.  Now I can see how the discipline I’m developing can help me work toward my goals of writing for publication.  Writing regularly will enable me to get the pages done that will eventually add up to an entire book (or two or three…).  It feels so liberating to be doing what needs to be done to  follow my dreams!

14 Responses

  1. How wonderful for you! And, another amazing accomplishment.

  2. So glad you stopped by my blog and congrats of your writing commitment. I’d love to invite you to check out my Monday Morning Writing Prompt. My blogroll also has some good sites with writing prompts. Hope to see more of your work soon! Victoria

    • Thanks, Victoria…I will definitely check out your Monday Morning Writing Prompt and your blogroll…I appreciate all the help I can get!!

  3. Good for you!!

  4. I’ve heard of writing 750 words a day but not online. It’s a really good idea, I think!

    I used to write in my journal every night in junior high and high school but it became more sporadic in university and even more so now. But I think it’s something I should get back into

    • I’m not sure that much of what I’m writing at 750 words amounts to much, but it has definitely gotten me in the habit of writing daily. I also kept diaries when I was a kid, have you ever gone back and read what you wrote back then? It’s funny how every little thing was cause for tremendous drama!!

      • I’ve kept all my journals from when I was younger. They are really fun to read over. 🙂

      • They are fun, aren’t they? And sometimes hilarious as well. Isn’t it funny the things we thought were so important when we were kids? Like the world was going to end if we didn’t hear from that cute guy at school…ahh….those were the days!! I wouldn’t want to go back for anything…

  5. good for you! this looks like it could be a good place for journalling and idea formation. I might have to check it out. thanks for sharing!

    • You’re quite welcome…I’m on my 41st day in a row now,,,consistency has been my greatest gain. I’m sure, as I continue to write daily, that I’ll utilize it more as a tool to flesh out my ideas.

Leave a Reply

