The restroom is NOT in aisle 17A

Toilet paper

Image via Wikipedia

I’m not really sure what the deal is with customers in our store finding unique places to go to the bathroom, but it happened again last night.  I was at home when one of the women I work with called me to tell me an interesting story about her evening recovery (straightening things up, putting merchandise back where it belongs).  She was walking along through the wood aisle when she saw what she thought was melted chocolate in a display box of wood and felt shapes.  What?  Who?  No, wait, that’s not chocolate…that’s, you guessed it, poop.  You heard me, someone deposited some poop in a box of merchandise right in the middle of the wood department.  Who does that?  And why?

Donna said it looked to her like someone had emptied out their baby’s diaper.I still find myself shaking my head at this.  We are actually a modern enough store that we have restrooms for our customers to use…you know, toilets, sinks with soap and running water, paper towels, toilet paper, trash cans, even baby changing tables…I know it’s hard to imagine all those amenities in a restroom, but that’s just the way we roll.  So what would possess someone to just empty their baby’s diaper in the middle of the store where anyone could be walking by and see them?  And what kind of thought processes must exist for someone to think that’s alright to do?

Donna is pretty funny.   She said she hoped it was okay that she threw the merchandise and the display case away.  Oh yeah, I don’t think there’s any way to salvage it.  I know I wouldn’t want to buy something that had been contaminated in that manner, so I wouldn’t expect anyone else to either.  Thank goodness Donna was working (probably not what she was thinking) because she took care of it.  Can you imagine if that had sat there like that all night?  Yuck!!

I just want to plead with anyone who is ever a customer in a store anywhere…please, please, please…ask someone where the restroom is before you decide to make the break room or aisle 17A your own personal restroom.  All of the associates working in the stores and all of the other customers will thank you!

16 Responses

  1. OK, total ewww. Glad you all have a sense of humor about it – what else can you do really. I recall working in a restaurant where someone made a “deposit” right on the floor next to the toilet. We made the new guy clean the bathroom without telling him why. He never said a word about it.

    • One night, when I was closing, I was sweeping the floor and found a pair of panties…seriously…right out in front of the floral counter…how does that happen? Think they just fell off? And would you not realize that?

  2. House pets will often defecate in their master’s shoe to express anger. But a human doing such a thing or a parent leaving their baby’s “leavings” is just toooooo uncivilized for words.

  3. Thank Donna for all of us!!! It’s amazing what some people do in stores and to merchandise. Restaurant workers are much the same for ‘horror’ stories. We don’t eat out too often anymore for much of the same reasons. And when buying clothes – wash em when you get home! Thanks for sharing even though, it’s not the prettiest blog you’ve posted lol

  4. The only thing that would make sense to me is if some little kid who didn’t know better did it. And yes, kudos to Donna!

    • I can see what you’re saying, Simone. But the location of this “deposit” tells me adults (or at least older kids) were involved!!

  5. That is unbelievable. Thanks Donna!

  6. We have that problem in our fitting rooms a lot. I mean, I get that there is a stall so I guess I could see how someone might get confused. But as there is no toilet… nope, never mind, I don’t see at all how someone uses the bathroom in a fitting room. Ever. My mom had to damage out over $200 worth of jeans once that had been peed on. White jeans. That she didn’t know had been peed on until. She. Picked. Them. Up.

  7. […] The Restroom is Not in Aisle 17A by Run4Joy59 – This was both humorous and highly disturbing at the same time so I had to share it with everyone. Some people are very very odd! […]

  8. Oh Em Gee. It happened today! I was telling a co-worker about this blog entry and not 5 minutes later someone came in the office looking for rubber gloves and a mask because someone took a crap in a fitting room.

Leave a Reply

