The long and winding road to fitness, day 17

A Cheez-It cracker, shown near actual size on ...

Image via Wikipedia

Today was one of those winding road kind of days.  I got in plenty of exercise (in addition to my workout, I was up and down a ladder at work all morning…whew), ate six servings of fruits and veggies, consumed 1628 calories, but also ate a package of Cheez-Its from the vending machine…that threw my sodium intake for the day over my upper limit…water, I’ve got to drink more water…This was one of those days when we didn’t really have enough people working and there was so much to get done.  On days like this, I tend not to take my breaks and wolf down my lunch.  I know this isn’t healthy, but when I’m the only manager in the building and everyone is calling you for this and that, it makes it difficult (try impossible) to sit down for a break.  That’s when I find myself heading to the vending machine in the break room.  As I think about it, this is probably the result of stress more than anything else.  So…what can I take to work that would be relatively healthy, but also be quick and have that sort of vending machine appeal?

I could have made my “trail mix” which is usually a combination of dry cereal (Cheerios or Chex) with some kind of dried fruit and either a few chocolate chips or some unsalted nuts.  That’s the closest thing I can think of.  It’s the sort of thing you can eat on the go, isn’t messy and is fairly good for you.  What else, does anyone have any suggestions?

10 Responses

  1. Popcorn, if you like it, or pretzels. If you buy a big bag at the store, divide it into individual portions when you get home. If I’m looking for something sweet, animal crackers are my go-to snack. A banana works sometimes. At least it’s filling. Has it really been 17 days already?
    I did 45 mins. of low impact aerobics, elliptical machine and floor exercises. I’ve been filling up on those yummy cucumbers the neighbor gave us…not many calories there! I had a Kashi Go Lean bar, and made raspberry muffins, ate two of them, still need to figure out what I want for dinner.

    • Yeah, I was thinking about popcorn…the animal crackers would be good too. Yep, it’s really been 17 days…crazy, huh? Way to go on doing 45 minutes today…awesome!! Those raspberry muffins sound good, I should probably bake some muffins. I end up freezing most of them, then just pull one out to take to work. Then it’s thawed by the time I get ready to eat it.

  2. The trail mix sounds really good. I’ve been snacking on granola bars and grapes. I love the chocolate chip idea for the trail mix.

    • The trail mix is good…just a few chocolate chips add that chocolatey goodness without too many extra calories…certainly better for you (me) than a candy bar…lol

  3. 17 days, great job! I’ve been a salt kick lately so I probably would be a bad advice giver, lol. I’ve also gotten hooked on the Indulgent Trail Mix from Wal-mart. How about sunflower seeds?

    • yep, sunflower seeds would be good too. I bought some PopChips and popcorn when I went to the grocery store today, so hopefully that’ll be enough to keep me away from the vending machine for the next 5 days…

  4. […] The long and winding road to fitness, day 17 […]

  5. I’m voting for popcorn too. It is pretty easy and if you get a natural one your fingers should be ok. I’m a big fan of the Cheez-it as you have in your photo. Almonds are also a great snack. I believe Blue Diamond makes a 100 calorie pack version for people on the go.

    • I bought a package of popcorn (already popped) and took a serving to work yesterday…very good and satisfying. I do like the Cheez-Its, I just have to be careful to only eat one serving..lol

Leave a Reply

