The long and winding road to fitness, day 8

Cover of "Healthy Weight Loss (DK Healthc...

Cover of Healthy Weight Loss (DK Healthcare)

Well, today was weigh in day…I’ll tell you a little secret, I weigh in every day, but I’m only going to report my weight loss or gain on Sundays…you ladies know how much our weight can fluctuate from day-to-day.  So, anyhow, back to the big scale today…stepped on it this morning and was thrilled to see a 10 pound loss!  Yes, I’m totally aware that most of this was just water weight, but you’ve got to start somewhere and this was enough to put a smile on my face for most of the day!!  Also enough to keep me in line with what I ate at work today.   I’m feeling pretty positive about being able to make healthier choices, both at the grocery store and in my kitchen.

So, today I had 1624 calories, rode the exercise bike for 15 minutes, walked for 15 minutes (plus several hours of walking at work, but not fast enough to get me breathing hard), did lower body strength training, 8 exercises, 2 sets of each exercise.   Another good day after a decent night’s sleep.  I think it helps that I’m shutting everything down about an hour before I need to get to sleep, not eating anything at bedtime, and the exercise helps as well.

So, has anyone else noticed any changes in attitude, sleep patterns, mood, or anything else that you attribute to eating better and/or exercising more?  It does make a difference!

10 Responses

  1. Eight days!! Woo hoo!! Keep up the good work! I know when I get a good run in (I did 4.8mi on Friday) I sleep so much better. Not exhausted, but a good solid sleep which is always welcome!

  2. Well, CONGRATULATIONS to you! What great news.

    lol, the other day the wp writing prompt was to go do pushups and write about it. The prompt said a 40 year old woman should be able to do 16. I’m older than that but I rolled my eyes. I dropped and did 16. I could have done way more, but just the 16 did two things. Impressed the kids and got me motivated to go do housework (my real workout).

  3. Congrats!! Isn’t that great motivation? When you start feeling better, then you can see you’ve lost weight, you start sleeping better…it’s a win/win situation. I stayed under my calorie limit today, but the road trip/off schedule has thrown a wrench in my works. Tomorrow is Monday and I can start afresh!

    • Thanks…definitely great motivation! I always like to get back to my routines after a few off days…seems like Mondays are great days to do that

  4. I can’t believe very much of that weight loss is water. Congratulations! Losing that much in one week is amazing. Keep up the good work.

    I lost one pound. Ha! And it could have been partly water. At least I didn’t gain. Blessings to you as you continue…

    • Well…I don’t know…I know I had been eating a lot of salty snack foods before, that’s why my assumption is that a lot of the weight loss was water…but hey, that’s okay!! And a big congrats to you on a pound gone for good!!

  5. I have nothing spectacular to share. I’ve been eating soup and crackers and I tried to do 10 minutes on the treadmill but only made it to 5. But I shall get through this and tomorrow is another day. Kudos to those who have been doing well…though.

    • Well, I think every little bit that we do is a step in the right direction…this isn’t something that happens overnight (goodness knows, we didn’t get where we are overnight), rather we are all searching for ways to make these changes lasting…we do what we can do each day…good for you for doing that!!

Leave a Reply

