Container garden gone wild

Wow…all of the rain we’ve had this year has caused an explosion in my container garden…well, okay, not exactly an explosion (thankfully), but the plants continue to grow like crazy…over running the small patio outside my kitchen.  When I heard the mowers early this morning, I knew I was going to have to do something because the cucumbers were growing out into the grass and the mowing crew would just run over them.

So, lacking the supplies on hand to grow them vertically (make a note now for next year, Patti), what could I do with them to get them out of the way and to have them take up a little less room on the patio?

I put one of the pots on the top shelf of a plant stand altho it looks like this will only be a temporary fix…I think the plant will continue to grow so much that I’d have trouble getting in and out the back door.

I set the other pot in front of the Adirondack chair that I won’t be sitting in this summer.  I kind of originally used it to give a little extra support to the tomato plant, but the plant quickly took over.  I’ve just come to the conclusion that the chair will simply be a background for the art that is my garden this year!

Hard to believe I’m going to all that trouble for this…only another gardener would understand…

I picked another pepper today that I’m going to use in black bean salsa later today.

The zucchini plant continues to grow.  Hard to believe, when I first planted zucchini, many years ago, I planted an entire row…funny how many things you can do with zucchini when it’s got you buried in the kitchen…and really, there’s only so much you can palm off onto friends and family!  I actually found a cookbook devoted to zucchini…some very interesting recipes (many that I’ve never tried…and likely will never try).

And one of the sunflowers that the birds planted for me is getting ready to bloom…enjoy little birdies, maybe you’ll eat a little less of the expensive bird seed I buy for you…or not!

Don’t you just love how gardening is never the same year to year?  I just hope this year is a better year for my tomatoes than last year was…oh well, if not, there’s always the farmers market!

10 Responses

  1. That’s a great little vignette coming together around your chair. Thankful for the farmer’s markets! We haven’t done any vegetable gardening for several years, but your containers are planting seeds in my brain! Everything looks so good. Great job!

    • Thanks, Patti…I didn’t actually intend to not be able to sit in that chair this year, but once the tomato plant got so big that it was overflowing the cage, it kind of took over the chair…oh well..soon it’ll be too hot to sit out there anyhow…and I’ll have tomatoes just outside my back door!! And I do love those farmers markets…I’ll have to do a blog on our city’s market sometime…it’s awesome!!

  2. Your plants are coming along marvelously! Love this post it brings back memories of things I’ve used over the years for those veggies that crawl up. And support systems for the tomatoes. Fun.

    • I know, sometimes we just have to make due with what we have on hand, don’t we? And that often turns out to be better than what we could go out and buy at much less the cost!!

  3. Nice! :o)

  4. Great garden, Patti! It’s wonderful to grow your own vegetables and herbs. (My brother grows herbs in containers in his yard, and he shares his herbs with me.) Sunflowers are very cheery plants that look like faces wearing bright yellow hats. I like them! Blessings to you…

    • You can really grow so much in containers, people are always surprised by how much I can grow in a limited space. And I agree about the sunflowers, just something about them puts a smile on your face!!

  5. I love container gardening. Its especially helpful when you have a tiny yard. Also the veggies taste so much better.

    • Absolutely, Cheryl..and a lot less weeding too!! Trade off is you have to water every day, but that gives you time to look everything over every day. The taste…oh yeah!!

Leave a Reply

