The long and winding road to fitness, day 3

Main health effects of sleep deprivation (See ...

Image via Wikipedia

Whew…am I ever glad to be back home.  I had to be at work at 5 am today and ended up with only about two and a half hours of sleep…wide awake at 2 in the morning and couldn’t go back to sleep.  I hate it when that happens.  One of the things I’ve figured out about myself is that lack of sleep really messes with my weight loss efforts.  I’m  making a serious effort to get to bed early enough that I get seven hours of sleep a night (somehow I can’t hit that mark when I have to be at work so early).  I’ve read numerous articles discussing the correlation between not getting enough sleep and weight gain…and I believe it to be true.  When I don’t get enough sleep, I find myself eating more than I normally would…my body’s way of trying to be energized?  I also have more  pain in my legs when I’m lacking adequate sleep, and increased pain levels somehow lead me to eat more.  And I had a LOT of pain today.  Luckily, I’m home now, took  a nap for about an hour this afternoon and don’t have to work tomorrow.  And I just realized, I’ll be on vacation in exactly three weeks…how’s that for an energizing thought?!

Even with having to be at work so early, getting practically no sleep and having a lot of pain, I still managed to eat fairly healthy today.  I ended up with 1738 calories for the day (thank you, SparkPeople.com for doing the calculations for me), rode the exercise bike for  20 minutes, walked 10 minutes, did core work (5 sets) and some stretching.  Not too shabby for someone who was feeling tired all day!

One thing I did notice, when I was reviewing my nutrition info on SparkPeople, was that I do need to add a few more veggies to my diet.  I had plenty of protein (even without eating any meat), calcium, carbs….all right in range…not too much fat or sodium…the only thing it told me I needed more of was fiber…so something to work on there.  It’s pretty cool that you can see exactly how much you’ve consumed of whatever nutrients you choose to track..

I did receive the health assessment form from my health insurance (through work)…I’ve got to take it to my doctor and have them do some basic lab work, then go online and complete a health assessment once I have the results…sheesh..not looking forward to seeing those numbers.  But I guess it gives me a place to start, right?  In case you were wondering, they didn’t single me out.  Everyone who has insurance through our employer gets one of these.  You don’t have to complete the assessment, but if you don’t, you pay an additional $20 a month for your insurance.  I don’t know about anyone else, but I can think of better things to do with my money…

So…how did everyone else do today?  Exercise?  Healthy food choices?  Did anyone cook up anything that’s tasty and good for you today?  Been grocery shopping since we’ve begun our journey? (I’m doing that in the morning.)

 

12 Responses

  1. The human body “graph” and the drawbacks of sleep deprivation really hit home for me. 5 minutes on the treadmill today. Slept quite a bit which also had an impact on what I ate. This insomnia is really getting to me. I think another problem area for me is eating late at night. I miss meals due to sporadic eating and poor sleep habits.

    I’ve read two points of view on the cut off time for meals. Some say don’t eat after 7p.m. others claim that it’s a dietary myth. hmmm….

    About to devour a fruit and veggie salad with sun dried tomato vinaigrette. I baked some skinless chicken strips and will eat 2 of them with my salad. Second day drinking water for most of the day. I like the Cranberry Light Juice with a little diet ginger ale added. Yep…I know. I can’t completely give it up but I’m sure I can significantly cut down on it. To my credit …I do drink lots of water …at least.

    I’ve got to do this…my daughters are in their 30’s and still haven’t decided whether or not they want to marry. I’d like to give myself a chance to be around to see my grandchildren and be able to enjoy them.

    • I really do believe lack of sleep adversely affects our bodies and our minds…funny, almost the only time I’m bothered with insomnia is when I have to work the next day…what does that tell me?

      I’ve also heard both points of view about eating past a certain time each day…for me, I just sleep better if I don’t eat a big meal for dinner and maybe have just a light snack befoe I go to bed.

      Your salad sounds yummy!! I do need to focus more on drinking water…I’ve cut back on my diet Pepsi, but I’ve yet to cut it out completely…but I will!

      And here’s to being around to enjoy your grandchildren…whenever they may come along…lol!!

  2. I walked for about half an hour. My hubby and I had cauliflower steamed and then baked with mayonnaise, mustard, Parmesan cheese, and butter on it. Yummy. The cauliflower was very healthy and low calorie until I bathed it in butter, etc. Bad. I don’t think I did very well. Tsk.

    You, on the other hand, did very well! How nice that you will be on vacation in only three weeks! Blessings to you, Patti…

    • I’m going to try that recipe. I use Get Smart and it has a buttery taste. It sounds good!

      • It is tasty. It’s easy, too. Steam the cauliflower, spread the florets out in baking dish, spread the mayonnaise, mustard, and grated Parmesan cheese mixture on it and dot it generously with clumps of butter. Bake at 375 until the cheese browns.

    • That really does sound good, Carol Ann! I wonder how it would taste if you substituted olive oil for the butter? And good for you for getting in your walking yesterday!!

  3. Thanks for this, Patti. You inspired me to start a separate blog about my fitness goals: http://shrinkingseasweetie.wordpress.com. And I had a good fitness and food day!

    • Awesome…I’m going over there in a couple of minutes to check it out!! How cool that we’re all working together to get fit and healthy!!

  4. Today wasn’t a cardio day for me, but I got a good bit of walking in doing errands, and a trip to Sam’s. I came in 3 calories under goal! lol
    It’s tough to stay focused when tired, so you did great today! Keep up the good work. Do you have vacation plans?

    • Congrats on staying within your calorie range yesterday!! And all that walking around makes a difference. I’m always tired after spending the entire day running errands…you’d think, with my job, I’d be used to it!

  5. […] The long and winding road to fitness, day 3 […]

Leave a Reply

