The long and winding road to fitness, day 1

cooked red quinoa

Image via Wikipedia

Okay, I know this isn’t the first time I’ve said this, but I really am going to work at regaining my health and fitness…and that begins today.  I’m going to do some form of exercise every day, even if for only 10 minutes.  That is to get me back in the habit of exercising regularly.  After I’ve re-established that habit, I’ll work on increasing the intensity and length of workouts…well, I’ll gradually increase both intensity and duration each week.  I’m cutting out junk food, cooking more real food, planning my meals and snacks for each day.  I’ll weigh myself once a week and take my measurements once a month.

I don’t feel comfortable talking about what I weigh, but I will tell you what I’ve lost or, heaven forbid, gained each week.  I guess, by the time I’m closer to the end of this road (hmm…I guess the road to becoming fit and healthy turns into the road of maintaining that level of health and fitness, I don’t think the journey ever really ends), you’ll probably have a pretty good idea of what I weighed when I started (gasp), but for now, we’ll do things my way.

I’ll talk about what I’ve eaten each day and probably about why I’ve eaten what I’ve eaten (stress?  can you say work related stress?).  I’ll also talk about what I’m doing to better cope with my life.  We all know people don’t gain this much weight just because food tastes good, right?  I totally get that I need to work on the underlying issues in order to conquer this problem once and for all.  I know it won’t be easy, it won’t always feel comfortable, but it’s what I need to do in order to live the life I want to live, to whole heartedly embrace this life of mine, to be happy with who I am and where I am.  And I’m going to share my journey with you lucky folks…and if anyone cares to join me, hop aboard…we can work together.

So….for today…

Exercise:  walk 15 minutes; strength training, upper body, 6 sets with light weights; stretching 5 minutes

Nutrition:  breakfast-bagel (250 cal), pb (180 cal), skim milk (80 cal), oj (80 cal)  Total for breakfast:  630 cal

  lunch-soup (110 cal), rye bread, 2 slices (140 cal), cheese (100 cal), 1/2 banana (60 cal)   Total for lunch:  410

  dinner-quinoa and black bean salad (385 cal), frozen grapes  (120 cal), V8 Fusion (50 cal)  Total for dinner:  555

Total calories for the day (remember guys, I’m a girl)…1,595 which is right in the range where I want to be  1500-1800 calories a day.  I know I’m going to have to do some tweaking in order to get in additional servings of fruits and veggies…once the bagels are gone (3 left), I’ll buy either the Thomas’ bagel thins or a 35 calorie whole wheat bread…that alone will save at least 150 calories to use on additional healthier foods.  The quinoa and black bean salad is one of my favorite meals, so you’ll probably see it fairly frequently.

My first pepper of the season from my little patio garden.

Chopped onion, pepper and black beans added to quinoa.

Olive oil and my handy-dandy Hendrickson’s sweet vinegar and olive oil dressing.

The finished product..yum!!  If I’d had tomatoes or zucchini in the house, I would have added them to the salad.  That’s the great thing about this dish, you can put whatever you have on hand into it and it’ll be delish!!  Go ahead, experiment!

Related articles

12 Responses

  1. I’ll join you. I’ve been trying to lose weight for quite a while. I’ve dropped two pounds over the long haul. I know that seems small, but stopping the gain was my first challenge. I’m too easy on myself, but maybe if I’m too hard, I’ll quit. I was climbing six flights of stairs each day, but recently I am walking our hallways for fifteen or twenty minutes instead. Of course, reducing portions. Eating healthy foods. We’ll get there one pound at a time. Blessings to you, Patti…

    • Oh, I think putting an end to the gaining is a huge accomplishment, and then to lose a couple of pounds on top of that…fantastic!! Good job on the exercising…I know I feel so much better when I’m following an exercise routine and then when I drop a few pounds I’ll feel even better…you’re right, exercise, portion control, eating healthy foods, these are all a part of weight loss success…we will get there!!

  2. You’re brave to share this – perhaps you’re right and it’s the only way. I may try to join you too.

    • The more the merrier (people joining in, not pounds…lol)…and anyone who knows me knows I’ve struggled with my weight off and on my entire life…it’s definitely not hard to see it, kind of hard to hide it!!

  3. Oh wow that dish looks like something I’d totally dig! I think I shared my weight problem on my blog (Maintaining my container). Tho I was overweight, I am now underweight–also a headache. Counting, measuring, yuck I hate math! I’m cheering you on tho!

  4. Good for you! I’ve been sitting on a plateau for what seems like forever. It will be good to encourage each other. I’m in!

  5. A journey starts with a single step and now you are on your way! I’m behind you! If I can do it, so can you!
    PS – the Quinoa looks delish!

  6. I’m with you on this as well!

Leave a Reply

