You can help stamp out hunger today

IMG_5838

Image by Akron-Canton Regional Foodbank via Flickr

Take a few minutes today to help your community feed people in need. The Stamp Out Hunger food drive  is one of the largest food drives in my community and one of the easiest to participate in.  All you have to do is leave a bag (or two or three…) of nonperishable food items (items such as toothpaste are also welcome) at your mailbox for your mail carrier to pick up.  They will then donate everything to a local food bank.  Even if you can only donate one can of food, that one can will help someone else put food on their table. 

10 boxes of spaghetti, 3 cans tuna, 2 cans milk, 1 can spaghetti sauce. 2 jars peanut butter, 2 boxes tea, 1 box Stove Top stuffing.

6 boxes pasta, 3 cans fruit, 1 can pumpkin, 2 tubes toothpaste, 1 box pudding, 5 boxes oatmeal.

2 cans beans, 1 can ravioli, 2 cans milk, 10 cans assorted vegetables, 1 can tomato paste, 2 cans soup, 2 bags pretzels.

I had set a goal to donate 50 items today and exceeded that goal by donating 60 items!  What will you donate today?

6 Responses

  1. How thoughtful and kind you are in your giving to others! I hope everyone can be as thoughtful today!
    I re-posted this to the Passport To Frugal wall today!
    Have a wonderful day!

  2. We remembered to put out a bag of food. As you say, every little bit helps.

    Thanks for spreading the word.

  3. It’s wonderful that you do this! I used to be able to but now I find myself going to the food bank on some months 😦

    A very minor tip I’ve learned. If there’s something special on clearance, when people are down and out a special “treat” is so comforting. As an example, I got pear preserves at the food bank–a treat I’d never buy for myself…but getting them really lifted my spirits 🙂

  4. I know exactly what you’re saying…I’ve had times in my life when I’ve really struggled just to get by. I’m a little more comfortable now and want to share with others. And the treat idea is great…I’ve often donated brownie mixes, cake mixes and cookie mixes just for that reason…of course, it’s not something that someone needs, but it’s sure nice to have a special little treat every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

