Thank you, Planned Parenthood protesters

Rally for Planned Parenthood

Image by Fibonacci Blue via Flickr

On my way home from work today, I noticed some protesters outside of the local Planned Parenthood location.  They were holding large signs, walking up and down the sidewalk, occasionally shouting at passing vehicles (or the people driving those vehicles, which would make more sense).  I didn’t see anyone entering or exiting the building, so I don’t know if the protesters were interacting with the clients of Planned Parenthood or not.

I just wanted to express my gratitude to these people who spend so much of their time protesting the services that Planned Parenthood provides.  Thanks for reminding me that I haven’t made a donation to Planned Parenthood for several months.  Thanks for inspiring me to go home and immediately write out a check to Planned Parenthood.   Thanks so much for getting me to think about how many services Planned Parenthood provides to women who might not otherwise be able to afford those services.  Thanks for reminding me that I need to contact my representative and senators and tell them that defunding Planned Parenthood is unacceptable.  Thanks for the incentive to, once again, get involved in a cause in  which I believe.

Yes, in our country, we all have the right to make our voices heard.  Sometimes, in doing so, we remind others how important their voices, and their actions, can be.  For that reminder, I thank you.  Let my voice, and my actions, support my beliefs.

Leave a Reply

