Successful Kroger shopping trip today

Kroger - 1938 West Gray

Image via Wikipedia

I had to do some grocery shopping today and I was determined to buy healthier foods this week.  I spent about an hour going over the ad and my coupons so I could get the best deals.  I planned what to take to work for my lunches for the week, sort of planned what to have for dinner (smoothies here, soup there…a little more flexible with my dinner).  I printed out my list and my plan to get the multiple $5 off each 10 items in the Mega type sale they had going on at Kroger.

I stopped in the produce section first…holy moly…have you seen how expensive produce is now?  I planned to buy a bell pepper to cut into strips to put on my sandwich for lunch, but decided that $1.39 was more than I was willing to pay.  Ended up buying Romaine lettuce, cucumber, bananas and strawberries.  I had printed out a coupon for the strawberries, but for the life of me, I couldn’t find it anywhere…must be a coupon thief running around somewhere…

I picked up the next few things on my list (including diet Pepsi…yes, I still bought diet Pepsi, even though I know I shouldn’t drink it…one of these days I’ll kick that habit, just not going to be today).  When I got to the pasta aisle, I was a little (okay, a lot) disappointed.  The Ronzoni pasta that I was really going to stock up on was almost completely wiped out.  I had coupons that would have made the pasta free when combined with the sale, so that kind of threw a wrench in my planning.  I was able to get six boxes today, but it made me have to re-think some of my other purchases.  This is what I ended up with…

I ended up picking up the tuna to get my total purchase of the mega sale items up to a multiple of 10 (and therefore get the additional $5 off my total purchase)…and the tuna is something that I can take to work some day when I’m running behind and didn’t prepare my meal the evening before.

I was pretty thrilled to score some freebies

The pasta and tomatoes were free when I combined the sale price with coupons (and I really wanted to get a lot more of the pasta to donate to the food pantry).  The peanuts and Country Crock were my winnings on the Kroger website’s March to Savings game.  The Purex Crystals I won in a giveaway on the Sweeties Freebies blog.

I found some items marked down that I’ll be able to put to good use this summer when I can some pickles.

Both mixes were under fifty cents each, so check it out if you think you might be interested in doing a little canning of your own.

My goal is always to come in under $50 a week…I was just a little over that today.  However, the Lysol cleaner isn’t officially in my grocery budget (I put that in my household, health and beauty budget), so I actually came in a little under $50 for groceries.

Spent $53.26 and saved $57.71, a savings of 52%…no wonder I was consistently spending over $100 a week on groceries before I started couponing.  Now if I can just break the diet Pepsi habit…

I just found out today that the farmers’ market starts next weekend…thank goodness…looking forward to some fresh, locally grown produce…and maybe some lower prices too!

One Response

  1. I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post.

    Check out this Delicious Strawberry Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

