Creativity…so many roads, so little time

It just dawned on me today…if I didn’t have to have a real job (you know, that thing that helps me keep a roof over my head and food in Spooky’s belly)  I could spend a lot more time being creative.  I have so many creative interests, some long-term (sewing, cross stitch,making jewelry, crocheting) and some that I’ve done for  a short period of time (card making, collage).  I would love to have more time to devote to crafting creatively, but I work full-time (and then some), exercise almost every day, do basic housekeeping chores daily and spend at least an hour a day writing (this blog as well as a book I’m working on).  So when exactly am I supposed to find the time to do things that I enjoy doing, but that aren’t what I feel most passionate about?  Do I need to schedule time for creativity?  You know, from 3-5 pm every other Wednesday?  Would that even work?

Some of the things I created came about totally spontaneously…

This is a collage I did when I was just fooling around with some pictures from magazines…it might be just a tad strange, but I sure had a good time working on it.  This is something that really takes a lot of time…each little piece of the picture is cut from a separate magazine picture then all arranged to form the picture.  How do you like the giant frog?  Fun…and the freedom to make the picture be exactly what you want it to be.

This gardening doll, on the other hand, took only about two hours to make.  At one point in time, I was really into making dolls, then I got away from it.  I could see myself getting back into doll making…maybe more along the lines of original, kind of different dolls….not so much the cutesy ones any more.

This cross stitch picture took me several weeks to finish.  But it’s one of those pieces that I feel good about every time I see it (which is pretty much every day).

This is the one and only crewel piece I’ve done.  I can’t even remember how long it took me to finish this, but I’m sure it took me more than a month.

The pink crocheted afghan that Goldie is sleeping on took me a long time to finish.  I really like the pattern on it and it wasn’t that difficult to do, just time-consuming.  And now that I spend more time on the computer than watching tv, I can’t even begin to imagine how long something like this would take me to complete.

While I find myself spending a lot of time writing these days, I do  feel the need to create something tangible with my own hands.  So maybe that scheduled block of time every other Wednesday might just be the way to go…I’ll let you know!

3 Responses

  1. I’m into knitting right now but I recently came out of an intesive marmalade making episode. It seems like much of that creativity is hard to schedule, but it’s nice to have a time set aside to just play. Having a routine with my writing has definitely improved my productivity.

    • Marmalade? How did that come about? I’ve canned jellies and jams in the past (including a gorgeous lavender jelly), never marmalade.

      I have found that writing regularly is making me more disciplined in other areas of my life…probably because I’m spending so much time writing…in order to get anything else done, I have to have a routine that I stick with.

      Just stopped by your blog…love the look of it…you’ve certainly taken part in some interesting challenges…the 50 word story was great!

      • Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂 I love those writing challenges. They really exercise my creativity and make me want to write more.

        Marmalade: We have an orange tree (actually, I thought it was a lemon tree so the oranges were a surprise). It produced a bumper crop of oranges (which turned out to be blood oranges, another delightful surprise). Procrastinator that I am, I didn’t pick and eat a whole bunch of the oranges or pick them to give away right away. So the fruit sat and sat on the tree (hung, I guess). A friend mentioned using marmalade in an orange chicken recipe and I bought some from the store. I realized that I could make marmalade from all of my oranges (turned out to be a looooooot of work, but worth it). So, I made jar after jar of the stuff. The last several batches were savory rather than just sweet. It was fun. I thought a lot about the writing process as I was doing it. I suppose all creativity functions similarly.

Leave a Reply

