Bringing back memories of old Little Italy

Today I did something that brought Little Italy to mind (for those of you who don’t know me, I owned a pizza place called Little Italy many years ago…in a small town in Indiana, not an Italian neighborhood of a big city).  I prepared pepperoni breadsticks to take to work tomorrow for our Italian themed pitch in.

First I spread the dough (and here I really cheated.  I didn’t make my own, I used Pillsbury pizza crust…not quite as good as homemade, but a lot quicker), cut it in half and started placing the pepperoni.

Roll the dough around the pepperoni, cut and seal the edge.

Repeated process until I had a little over 3 dozen…still need to seal the ends on these!

Sprinkled some with garlic salt and left some plain, baked at 400 degrees for maybe 10 minutes.  In trying to save time, I baked some on my pizza stone and some on a metal cookie sheet (heavy one, good quality).

The one on the left was baked on the pizza stone, the one on the right on the metal cookie sheet…hmm…lesson learned…don’t take shortcuts…use the stone at all times.  Have to admit, i did sample some of both and both taste pretty good.  Those crazy people I work with will be all over these!

2 Responses

  1. You need to post some ‘vintage’ Little Italy recipes! 😉

  2. maybe that’ll be the subject of a future blog…

Leave a Reply

