A home cooked meal…finally

Symbol for subway / metro. NON-OFFICIAL

Image via Wikipedia

When thinking about what to have for lunch today, I said to myself, “oh I’ll just walk over to Subway“…and even though Subway is a decent choice for lunch, I’ve found myself doing that a little too often lately.  I know I can cook healthier (and less expensive) meals myself with food I have on hand. 

 So off I go to look in the pantry and freezer…hmm…so many choices.  There’s quite a bit of boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the freezer.  How about I pull out my little counter top grill and grill a few of those to last for the next few days?  What to have with the chicken?  Quinoa?  Couscous? How about plain baked potatoes?  I haven’t had those in quite some time…so yeah, I’ll go with those.  Veggies?  Wow…I have a lot of veggies in the freezer.  Should probably use some of those.  Oh, there’s a package of broccoli, cauliflower and carrots with a lite cheese sauce..that sounds pretty tasty.

All cooked up and packaged for a healthier lunch option, not only for today, but for the next several days.  Yea Patti!!  One more step back to that healthier lifestyle!

One Response

  1. Yeah, Subway is great! :p

    But making your own lunch is probably a better choice. I wish you all the best in your journey towards a healthier lifestyle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

