Kroger mega sale with coupons

A box of Irish Breakfast tea sold by Twinings

Image via Wikipedia

My first trip to Kroger using coupons and really trying to get some good deals.  I had my list, a plan for what to buy to fulfill the requirements for the sale and a few alternates just in case.  I did okay, but definitely didn’t win any extreme couponing awards.  I spent $113 but saved $66…decent…better than I’ve ever done before, for sure.

I did buy 10 cans of DelMonte vegetables to get my pantry refilled (I use a lot of canned veggies when I make soup) and 5 cans of Hunt’s tomatoes, 2 cans of Hunt’s tomato sauce and 3 cans of Ro-Tel tomatoes (had a coupon for $1 off 3 Ro-Tel products)…so that’s two mega deals for a total of  $8.80.  My next deal (I actually did all of these in one transaction) consisted of 6 Balance Bars (had two coupons for $1 off 3) for a total of $1, 3 Honest Teas (had three 50 cent coupons that doubled so this was actually a money maker) that I actually ended up being 63 cents to the good and 1 box of Keenex for $1.19.  So the third deal came to $1.56.   My fourth deal was 2 packs of Kraft cheese slices (had two $1 off coupons) for 98 cents, 1 Ghiradelli brownie mix for $1.99, 2 cans of Progresso soup (had 50 cent coupon off two) for $1.38, 2 boxes of Ritz crackers (had $1 coupon off 2) for 2.47, 1 Silk Almond Milk (had a coupon for 75 cents) for $1.24, 1 Edy’s ice cream for $2.79, and 1 Digiorno pizza for $4.49…total on that deal came to 15.34.  That was the end of my mega sale savings.  I thought I came out of that in pretty good shape.

I also purchased five 6-packs of the bottles of diet Pepsi…thought I’d given it up, but I found myself buying a diet soda from the vending machine at work every day and decided  I might as well not spend so much money and actually get the product that I like (quitting is another story for another blog).

I bought fresh fruits and veggies, milk, bread, the natural peanut butter I like, string cheese (I had a coupon for string cheese by Kraft, but it still came to more than the CowPals so I just bought the one I always buy), pasta sauce, Kroger brand of  lunch meat (for lunch for work next week), Charmin (had a $3 coupon loaded on my Kroger card) that was less than any of the other brands even with coupons, 2 tubes of Pillsbury crescent rolls, 2 boxes of Twinings Irish Breakfast tea (my favorite tea), 2 cartons of Minute Maid oj (had a B1G1 coupon), Back To Nature flaxseed crackers, I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter, 2 packages of Dove candy for Valentine’s Day, and a box of Crispix (can’t believe I didn’t have a coupon for that).

So I came home with a lot of food and beverages as well as some household supplies…got a few more things for my stockpile…just building it up slowly.  I know I’ll get better at this as I go on, but I’m encouraged by how much I was able to save today.  And there are four coupon inserts in the newspaper on Sunday..have already seen a sneak preview of the CVS ad and the mega deals at Kroger next week and it looks like there will be some good deals there as well!  I’m going to stick to my budget on groceries next week though…I won’t spend more than $50!  I’ll buy the fresh produce, milk, bread and peanut butter that I have to have and then go from there…I know I can do this!

One Response

  1. […] Kroger mega sale with coupons (run4joy59.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

