My First CVS Shopping Trip

Well, I did it…I took my list and my coupons and took the plunge.  I stopped at CVS after work last night.  I’ve been reading all of these blogs about how much money people save by shopping at CVS, buying things that are on sale, that they have coupons for and that offer ECBs.  Granted I didn’t have a lot of coupons since I just started getting into this whole couponing culture….but I had a few.

I needed Natural Instincts hair color (yes, I color my hair…have for years…and Natural Instincts is the least harsh on my hair), didn’t have a coupon, but it was on sale for $5.99…picked up one box.  Then I decided to try this ECB thing…picked up a tube of Crest toothpaste and some Tom’s of Maine deodorant (again no coupons for either, but I know I’ll have coupons for future purchases)…got 2ECBs for the Crest and 3 for the deodorant.  Did buy two bags of M&Ms, on sale for 2/$4, had a coupon for $1 off 2, so that made them $1.50 each and I got 1 ECB for that.  I also had a coupon for buy one get one free diet Coke (yeah, yeah…diet Coke and M&Ms…what’s wrong with this picture?) and buy one get one free Orbit gum.

So, got all of that for under $20 with $6 off a future purchase.  I really think I’ll do better in the future…one possible problem I could see with this is that I could end up buying things I don’t really need just to be using the coupons and ECBs…I have a plan for that tho…go through the ads, make a list of only the best deals of things I actually need, search thru my coupons and come up with the best possible scenario.  Then follow my list…but…do I also want to be just a little flexible in case I come across some fantastic deal on something I use?  Hmm…I’m going to have to give that some thought.

All in all, I’m feeling pretty good about my first attempt at CVSing…I didn’t come away with two bags of merchandise for under $1, but I believe this is something that I’ll get better at as I do it more often.  Anyhow…it was pretty fun!!

8 Responses

  1. Sounds like a great first trip! Your ECBs are good for a month, so you can use them on items that are on your list and you want to make them even cheaper, or you can use them on items that you need, but aren’t on sale or you don’t have coupons for. If your ECBs are about to expire, there are ALWAYS items that are free after ECBs that you can buy to sort of extend your deadline for the cost of tax only. Then you can always give away those items if you don’t want them.

  2. Always glad to see a fellow couponer 🙂 In time, couponing will be a piece of cake and become second nature to you. I can’t believe how much we spent paying full retail price all those years. I will never go back lol. Happy couponing!

    • Thanks for stopping by and the encouragement…I’m certainly having a good time with this…I think I’m going to keep track of how much I save each week.

  3. I followed your comment on my blog to this page. Glad to see that you are getting started couponing! I started small as well. Now I can’t believe all the money I used to waste. Probably the biggest challenge when getting started is acquiring a large stash of coupons. My coupons come from the Sunday Paper (I get 4 every week), coupons that come in the mail often with items I have requested for free, the free publix coupons (the come in the paper and you can also get them on the stand in front of the store), printable online coupons, and coupon booklets that are mailed to me or given out in stores.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks for the comments, advice and encouragement…I’ve been printing online coupons and a couple women I work with are going to bring me their inserts from the Sunday paper. I figure it’ll take me a little while to build up my stash…but I’m having a lot of fun with all of this!

  4. You can do it! I have the hardest time not getting distracted by impulse shopping (my favorite type of shopping) but I MAKE myself stick to my well-prepared lists and coupon stacks.

    I keep two lists on my fridge – one for Need NOW and one for Need SOON. And my family has to help keep the lists accurate…..this way I can plan ahead and look for deals and coupon matches in advance. I obviously have to buy some things not on sale or with a coupon 😦 But NEVER do I buy anything non-edible with out a coupon +sale! Combining the two is how you save – and you can combine when you plan in advance. A sale + coupon + money back (ECB, rebate, etc) = triple threat! (This is where you can even make money!!) Triple threats are the pot of gold…who doesn’t want to get paid to shop!

    Keep it going girl! You got this 🙂

    • Thanks for the comments…I feel like I’m learning so much from all of you more experienced couponers…I appreciate all the help and advice I can get!!

Leave a Reply

