Decluttering challenge, day 9

Wow!  We’ve finally managed to escape the deep freeze.  It was above 30 degrees yesterday, felt downright balmy.  Of course, they’re calling for some kind of winter mix tonight then lots and lots of rain and temps in the 40s.  Where I was sliding on ice, I’ll now be needing my flippers just to tread flood waters.  But hey!  Spring will be here before you know it.  I don’t know about you, but I’m not sure I’ve ever looked forward to spring more than I do right now.

Alrighty then, on to today’s decluttering mission.  I needed to find nine items to remove from my home today (and look at that!  It’s the ninth!  Amazing how that works out, isn’t it?) so I once again opened the closet in my spare room.

A mish mash and more magnolias

A mish mash and more magnolias

I found several more floral bushes (2 gypsophilia and 2 more magnolias) and a pretty white magnolia swag.  I don’t really remember being so fond of magnolias, but there must have been a time when I found them particularly appealing…you know, judging by how many I’m finding hidden away.  The little pink tote is one we did for some kids’ event at work.  Whoever the girl was who was conducting the event made them for those of us working that day.  Mine is pink (of course) with hearts and ballet slippers.  Very cute.  It is.  I like it, a lot.  But it’s a little small for anything practical and it’s just been hanging there in the closet for, oh I don’t know, probably four years.  So Clara is going to get a cute little Clara-sized tote bag one of these days.  There’s also a little St. Patrick’s Day party favor hat that I bought to use for a picture of Spook…

Drunk on green beer?

Drunk on green beer?

Oh my goodness, that poor little kitty…the things I’ve made her do.  Anyhow, I thought Clara might enjoy the hat too.  Spook sure didn’t.

You can’t see it very well, but there’s a little clear hard plastic Christmas tree box that I bought one year when it went clearance.  Still has the clearance sticker on it.  Never been used.  Another item in the Clara pile.  For some reason, this kid loves boxes…thinks every box is a treasure box.  Ah…to be 5 years old again when everything is full of magic.

And then there’s Santa.  I remember buying him at 90% off after Christmas one year.  I even put him out a few years.  But he’s been sitting on a shelf in the closet for several years now.  I’m debating what to do with old St. Nick.  I work with a guy who might like him, so I think I’ll ask him if he wants him.  If he doesn’t, I’ll just drop it off at Goodwill with everything else I’ve got designated for there.

So there you have it, my nine items for today.  This brings the total up to 66 items sent to a better place…a place where they can bring a smile to someone’s face.  And that feels pretty good.

What have you eliminated from your life so far this month?  And how does it make you feel?

 

9 Responses

  1. So far this month I’ve eliminated cleaning and de-cluttering. Here’s an important question: how do you throw/give away some useless item you’ve been given?

    • Ha! I don’t know that I’ll ever be at a place where I can eliminate decluttering. And how do you give away some useless item you’ve been given as a gift? Well, you probably shouldn’t take pictures and post them on your blog…you know, talking about how you’ve never had any use from them. Oh wait, did I do that? You might be able to sneak them over to Goodwill

  2. I need to roam the house with a trash bag in hand. You are inspiring me to dig deeper. Maybe I’ll tackle that sewing room closet one day.

  3. I am impressed with your decluttering. I am not a saver of things but CH is. Two years ago in the Spring I cleaned everything out of the basement and took it to Goodwill. A few things have started creeping back in but I think I am winning the clutter war.

  4. Well, you are WAY ahead of me on the clearing out count. I counted about 30 items including 5 pairs of eyeglasses that I’m sending to the Lions Club eyeglasses recycling program. A vacuum cleaner is in the pile and assorted books, knick-knacks and fabric. I do a clear out every year. There’s just something about starting the year with tidier closets and cupboards.

    • Fantastic on taking the glasses to the Lions Club where someone else will be able to make good use of them. Fabric? You got rid of fabric??? Oh my…I have such a stash of fabric and yarn. Oh…and books. See my problem?

      • Yeah, fabric. I haven’t done any sewing in years, and I don’t have any plans to take it up again. So out it went to someone who could use it. Oh, yes, books.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

