Writing exercises

English: Book and apparatus for writing. Engra...

English: Book and apparatus for writing. Engraving (prints). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve dabbled in utilizing writing exercises and prompts, but have never been able to do either on a regular basis.  I guess I get bored or feel like I want to write what I want when I want (sheesh…sounds like I’m three years old, doesn’t it?).  But I’m giving it another go for the next couple of weeks as a way to “train” for next month’s NaNoWriMo marathon.

I’ve already got my characters fleshed out, the plot of my novel worked out.  All I need to do is sit down and write…and write…and write.  For an entire month.  I thought I’d spend a little time learning a little more about writing, you know, improving my skills a little more before I jump back into the pool.  I don’t know who said that you learn to write by writing, but I believe that’s one of the truest statements I’ve heard.  So I’m going to write in ways that aren’t quite as comfortable for me as my normal methods…you know, stretch myself just a bit.

Then I’ll spend all of November writing like a mad woman…I can’t wait!

2 Responses

  1. Your excitement is showing! Three-year-old–lol That’s what I keep hearing, too, writing begets writing; when you stop you get rusty. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 653 other followers

