No sugar???

English: Magnum

English: Magnum (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, this Naturally Slim thing is harder than I thought it would be…not the eating only when hungry or stopping when you’re comfortable…I can pretty much handle that (most of the time).  And the eating slowly thing is okay…I’m a pretty slow eater anyhow.  But the eating only one thing at a time and having to decide when you’ve had enough of that and that it’s time to move on to the next food (knowing that you can’t go back to the previous food)…that’s hard.

But the most difficult thing for me is the no sugar rule…I mean, really…not even a bite of dark chocolate…no fruit unless it’s with a meal…no flavored creamers for my tea or coffee…Wow!!  Can anyone eat like this for an extended period of time, like forever?

Today I caved…I bought a box of Magnum ice cream bars.  I guess the only good thing I can say about that is the box only has 3 bars in it.  I ate one today and savored every single bite…those things are delish.  So, okay, I know this is all about getting healthy and losing weight, but isn’t learning to incorporate treats into your diet on occasion (and not overeat) part of learning to eat normally?  Or am I just trying to justify eating an ice cream bar when I’m not supposed to be eating any sugar?

Ah well, as Ann Romney said, “Stop it!  This is hard!”

3 Responses

  1. There is something to keeping the sugar and carbs under control, and balanced with protein to help with weight loss. South Beach recommends 3 bites of a dessert, then share the rest, rather than denying oneself of ever having a treat. Keep up the good work. :)

    • Portion control has always been a problem for me…that and emotional eating…combine the two…and watch out! But I’m working at managing it better…not always easy, but I know it’ll be worth it.

  2. [...] No sugar??? (run4joy59.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 653 other followers

