After living below the line…

Bread

Bread (Photo credit: ulterior epicure)

…grocery shopping.  Okay, not that I really needed to go to the grocery store.  I have plenty of food in my house, plenty.  But I was hungry when I got off work today and found myself wandering the aisles at Kroger.

I was pleased with most of what I brought home..watermelon, sugar snap peas, pico de gallo, chicken, artisan multigrain bread, sweet potato crackers…and then there was the diet Pepsi…oh yeah, and the ice cream sandwiches…ha!!  I told you I had a hankering for something with chocolate…not that the chocolate in those things is particularly high quality.

It sure tasted good to have a slice of that artisan bread rather than the store brand stuff I’d been eating all week.  Granted, we can all make our own bread and it most definitely tastes tons better than the cheap stuff you can find in the stores…but we usually don’t take the time to bake our own bread.  And I really don’t know why.  It doesn’t really take that long…it’s not like you have to stand over it the entire time it’s rising.  Surely it would be less expensive to bake our own bread rather than buy even the cheap stuff, wouldn’t you think?  Maybe I’ll have to do a study on that one…

Anyhow, I’m glad I took part in the challenge…and oh so thankful that I don’t have to live like that every day.

4 Responses

  1. After so small amount to eat all week, I’ll bet that was a feast for your eyes. :)

    • oh yeah…hate to say this, but the watermelon didn’t taste all that great…nothing like they taste in the summer…oh well…

      • Sorry to hear that about the watermelon. I’ve also bought those and other melons, even strawberries, to get home and have them taste like nothing. Very disappointing. One day soon they will be edible!

    • for sure…soon all of the locally grown, fresh from the garden produce will be available…yum!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 653 other followers

