Carrots instead of chips

That may not sound like a big deal to most folks, but it was a huge step in the right direction for me.  I just decided I need to start eating healthier again…I’ve been way too lax with my diet of late…like for the past several months.  Crazy!  So tonight, for dinner, I made a grilled cheese sandwich and was walking to the pantry to get the Doritos…U turned and walked to the fridge instead.  Pulled out the carrots.  Then decided to go for strawberries and angel food cake for dessert…not totally healthy, but so much healthier than I’ve been eating.

Why is this so difficult?  I know I feel better when I eat right.  I know I feel better when I exercise.  So why do I continue to do things that I know aren’t in my best interest and that will ultimately make me unhealthy, sick, or less fit?  I guess if I could figure this out, deal with the issues, and solve the problem I’d be writing best-selling weight loss/health and fitness books, right?

But today I feel like I was able to overcome temptation and do what I know I need to do…now to tackle tomorrow!

6 Responses

  1. Lazyness and habits! You just gotta stick with it for a while and it’ll become habit :) Plus weight loss generally comes with crippling guilt. Lol!

  2. Angel food cake with strawberries! Sounds wonderful!

  3. I think I know the answer. (because I have been asking myself the same question!) In the moment, those foods bring our seratonin up and we feel good momentarily without any effort. We may feel better when we exercise but there is effort involved and it is hard! BTW, I love carrots! One thing I love to eat them with is a bowl of chili. I think this comes from school when they served a bowl of chili w carrot sticks on the side. Yummy!

    BTW, congrats on a healthy choice!

    • I’m sure that’s right, Amy…and I do like carrots…while I was eating them I was asking myself why I didn’t eat them more often…sheesh…I remember having chili with peanut butter and honey sandwiches and carrots when I was in school too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

