I’m surprised, people are still in a cheerful mood

I say that because usually, by this time in the shopping season, people are starting to get desperate, stressed, and out of ideas.  So far, I’ve seen very little of that.  And I’m not complaining about that.  I hope it continues all the way through Christmas Eve.  I don’t really expect it to, but I would be very pleased if it did.

I ran register for most of the afternoon (again).  When I asked people how they were doing, so many people then turned right around and asked how I was doing…very nice.  I did have one guy who was a little grumpy, but one out of however many is pretty darn good.  I had an older couple come through my line and they seemed to be not especially cheerful.  But they were buying arrangements for the cemetary so it’s totally understandable.  That’s such a difficult thing to do, which reminds me, I need to do that for my mom’s grave.  Man, do I ever miss her.  And I’m sure that’s exactly the same sort of emotions that the couple was experiencing.  I’ve actually had people start crying when I’ve tried to help them pick things out for the cemetary.

I’ve noticed that people are now starting to buy cookie and candy tins…hmm…wonder what they’re planning to do this weekend?

I got the cutest Christmas card from my nephew and his wife today.  It’s a picture of the little ones sitting together…I’m telling you, I’ve never seen cuter kids anywhere.  Can’t wait to get my hands on them in a little over a week!!

I stopped at PetSmart and bought the special cat food for Spooky and Goldi for Christmas morning (you know, the kind that is much too expensive for every day?) as well as a couple of toys.  Why I buy toys for them when they have a huge bowl of them, I just don’t know.  Yes, you read that right.  A huge bowl full of toys.  One of the guys I work with bought a huge bowl for Spook, well she doesn’t eat much at a time so I decided to use that cute bowl to store her toys in.  Every once in a while, she starts pulling them all out and spreads them all over the house.  Sheesh, now if only I could teach her to pick them up.  Anyhow, where I was going with this, before I got distracted, was that Spooky dug the toys out of the bag before I could get them put up.  Can you believe that?  Now what is she going to have to open on Christmas morning?  Surely she doesn’t expect me to buy something else just because she was snooping…

This is Spooky posing in her little house…man, is that cat spoiled or what?!