Coffee blunders

A photo of a cup of coffee.

Image via Wikipedia

I came downstairs this morning, all excited because I was going to use my new coffee maker for the first time today and get to try out my new chocolate truffle coffee.  So I got out my handy-dandy box cutter (hmm…where did I get that?  don’t tell on me, please) and cut open the box.  I pulled everything out, looked it over, looked like everything was in good shape, had been packed well, no missing or broken parts…good so far.  I start reading the instructions, thank goodness at least part of them were written in English!!

It doesn’t take me long to realize that I don’t have coffee filters…shoot, shoot, shoot.  Okay, I’m not one to allow a little thing like that to keep me from seeing this through.  Hmm…I wonder, can I just use a paper towel in place of a filter, just for today?  I have the Seventh Generation ones that are unbleached, which I’m thinking is a good thing, I don’t think you really want to add bleach to your morning cup of coffee, right?  So, okay, get it wet and kind of mold it to the filter basket, that should work.

I read the instructions on the package of coffee, says to use 3 T for 4 cups of coffee.  Since I don’t think I want it as strong as most normal coffee drinkers would like, I’ll just use a little less.  Dump it in the filter, pour in the water.  Well, that doesn’t quite seem right.  Ohhhh, the water goes in the water reservoir, not the filter basket.  Alright, clean it up and start again.  Okay, now we’re cooking…uh…perking…

It’s done, pour a cup, add some Truvia and some milk…taste…add more Truvia and milk…taste…hmm…not quite what I was hoping for.  Okay, try Simone’s suggestion.  Pour some skim milk in a container with a lid, then shake the daylights out of it.  Take the lid off…cool, it really is foamy…

Now, what did Simone say to do next?  Pour some coffee in the cup, I think…however, the cup is already pretty full of this foamy, frothy milk mixture.  So just add a little coffee and some Truvia…stir gently…taste…add more Truvia..stir…taste…okay, not too bad. 

 

Whew, that was a lot of work for something that’s just alright…this may take a little more experimentation…any suggestions for coffee that doesn’t taste so much like coffee?  Or how to prepare it so that I sip it and just say, “Ahh…”?

12 Responses

  1. Great post thanks for sharing. Feel free to follow us on twitter for great healthy updates

  2. Lol, seems as if you went through so much trouble to make a cup of coffee. I do love coffee though, I always have one in the morning. (I use the instant stuff) Lol.

    • I’ve been using the Maxwell House International coffee (instant) and really like it, but wanted to try something different…hate to say it, but the instant actually tastes better than what I had this morning…

  3. Call me crazy, but the only way I can stomach the stuff is to mix it with hot chocolate mix. Half a packet of Swiss Miss, 1/2 TBSP instant coffe, half cup milk and half water. I call it my mocha moo latte.

  4. Oh my gosh I can’t stop laughing right now! Seriously though what bobcat said is great too. I love the taste of coffee so 3 T? Wow. I use 2/3 c. to make 4 cups.

    Back in the day when I was a cappachino-puller, as they say in the biz, I learned a lot about coffee. It’s rated by acidity and body. I’m guessing it’s the acidic part you don’t like? Although in the fancy coffee shops, it’s easy to pick the perfect coffee for your tastes, at the grocery store it’s more difficult. I’m trying to think of a brand perfect for you. I may need some time on that one, lol.

    I drink the Kroger brand and go through a can (the big one for $5.99) in eleven days, but my friends ask “aren’t you worried this will kill you?” so it probably wouldn’t work for most people.

    • Whoa…you do like your coffee…yeah, i guess, to me, a lot of coffee tastes kind of bitter, hence all the Truvia…let me know if you think of anything that you think I’d like~

  5. I’m still trying to perfect the whole coffee thing, too; not much help, I’m afraid.

  6. I love my first cup of coffee in the morning. I don’t drink the second one because it’s poison. My body allows only one, but one is delicious. I like breakfast blend, Folgers. For a 6-cup pot I use three heaping tablespoons. I pour a very large spurt of half in half in the cup first; then I pour the coffee in. Next I add a few shakes of cinnamon. I don’t use sugar, but if you’re used to sugar, you’ll want it add it. What is Truvia? Is it something sweet?

    I laughed as you struggled through making your first pot of coffee. Thank you for making me laugh. I think having a real filter will help a lot. I am not good at doing things for the first time. I usually need help. You conquered it! Blessings to you…

    • Cinnamon? I’ll try that in the morning…Truvia is a sweetener made from Stevia…not sure if it’s really any better for you than anything else, but, you know…

      I did buy some filters…that made a huge difference…no coffee grounds swirling around in my coffee!!

Leave a comment