The flight of the bumblebee

Bumblebee

Alright, I’m not exactly a bumblebee.  Yes, I have a funny, kind of round shaped body.  But I can’t fly like a bumblebee can.  However, as improbable as it may seem to others, I do run…in kind of a shuffling, bumbling manner.  I’ll never win any races (well, perhaps if I ran a race at a senior citizens center…nah, not even then), but I sure do enjoy getting out there and just moving.  I ran/walked my first 5K  last fall then promptly stopped running.

I did this 5K in honor of my mother.  She died from breast cancer 20 years ago.  I know she would have been so proud of me for doing this.  And honestly, I was pretty proud of myself for doing it.  So why did I stop running after such an exhilarating event?  At the time, I attributed it to the fact that my work schedule gets crazy from September through the end of the year.  Now I wonder if there was something more involved…I love going out by myself in the early morning and just running at whatever pace I feel like running.  Not competing with anyone except myself.  Pushing myself to go a little further or a little faster. Using the time to contemplate various aspects of my life.  Or simply using the time to enjoy being outside, doing something physical.  While I loved the sense of accomplishment I felt when I crossed the finish line, I didn’t particularly enjoy the race itself.  Possibly, had I not gone there by myself, I might have enjoyed it more.

Regardless of why I stopped, I’m now getting back into running.  Slowly, painfully getting back into running.  But I am doing it…to look at me, people might assume I can’t run  just as that bumblebee shouldn’t be able to fly.  But we’re both out there every day doing the improbable…watch me fly!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 653 other followers

